Mile High Green Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I like more tomatillos than suggested so I doubled the amount and added some cilantro. I forgot to buy cream cheese so I added sour cream but will try with cream cheese next time. Overall this was an absolutely delicious meal! It did not make 8 servings- more like 5 (3/4 filled normal size bowls). I suppose it could be stretched to 8 if served over rice. Additional notes: after sitting for 2 days we realized that the tomatillo was overwhelming in the dish. next time I will try the recipe as is and update again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi n Brian Maxwell (Buckles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Skipped the cream cheese, it was pretty good. Hubby loved it. Used it the next day to top home made tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My husband and I grew up in Colorado and LOVE green chili. This was really good, but not as good as my father-in-laws recipe (hence 4 stars). I made it in a pressure cooker (25 min/15 lb pressure). We didn't add the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian Wigginton
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Going to leave in more of the seeds from the pepper, it needed some more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Wigginton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very YUMMY!! Great flavor, spicy but not too hot. I think next time I will double the tomatillos but that’s just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This was fun to make and so tasty! I must have found some mild chiles, because there was no heat at all to this dish- but that didn't detract from the flavor. I agree with other reviewers: next time I'll skip the cream cheese at the end, as that may have contributed to the 'coolness' of the dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutton Chop Begay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Whoo Hoo I'm from CO and we use green chili alot and I always had to order from a family friend now she places her orders from me :). Only we use cream cheese to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
AWESOME RECIPE! I'm a Boulder Born - and - Bred gal and I've had great green chili but this is the first time I made it myself and I love it! It's the kind of recipe where you can make any adjustments you need to based on what's in your pantry and it STILL comes out awesome. I will save this for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is the authentic recipe I was looking for, none of the others get it!! Love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made this chili for a chili cook off at work and got disqualified. Everyone loved it and finished it off, but because it had no beans they said it wasn't chili, I didn't even attempt to argue. It is wonderful and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States