Mile-High Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe was delicious tasting. However, the mile high pie fell like the flatlands once cooked. 5 for flavor, 3 for presentation since apples cooked down so much, so rated it a 4 average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I used 5 granny smith and 3 golden delicious apples and subbed arrowroot starch since I didn't have any potato starch. Put it in a Pillsbury gluten free pie crust, and hubby told me it was the best pie he's had since going gluten free several years ago! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
One of the best pie recipes I have ever come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Beautiful big pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I liked this. The juices in the pie tasted really good, but I didn't have potato starch and so it was a little more soupy. I will add flour next time. Also, I had really small apples, so I think I could have added more. The granny smith flavor was really good and I liked adding the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made this last year for the first time at Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it and was really surprised how well a "non" cook or baker for that matter could make an apple pie that was just perfect in every way. The only thing that I changed was I added carmel sauce on top of the apples before I covered them with the 2nd crust. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is great! Used granny smith's, as they were on hand. Also used 1/2 cup regular and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Did not have a baking stone, so just put foil under pie pan - but no leakage anyway. Wonderful apple flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
FANTASTIC Pie recipe! I used two granny smith, two golden delicious and 2 Fuji apples to give the pie a little more taste and texture and I was pleased with the way it came out. Used corn starch as that's what I had on hand and it didn't seem to make any difference, still came out nice and juicy, yet not soupy. I also added walnuts in with the sugar mixture and the husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
great recipe, I did parcook the apples before placing them in the crust so I didnt get settling and that also made it work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I'm an apple pie snob, so I'm super picky. This one is a winner. Really, really good and so easy! I didn't have potato starch so I used corn starch. It worked just fine. thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States