Mile-High Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious! I use a mix of baking apples rather than all golden delicious and since I never have potato starch on hand, I just use corn starch. This is the pie people ask for at every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe! I MISTAKENLY added sugar (1/2cup white and 1/2 cup brown). I wish I had followed the recipe. The extra sugar was too much. That being said the flavor was good and I am sure without the additional sweet it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The taste was awesome, and I loved how the juices didn't flow all over the place when the pie was cut. I will note that I used cornstarch in lieu of potato starch...and I also used 1 1/2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar for the lemon juice. (I didn't want to go to the store for the ingredients I didn't have) One major change I will make for next time is just blending the sugar mixture in with the apples before putting the apples in the crust. After it finished baking, there was stll a heavy layer of t atop the apples...otherwise still very delicious...and nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was my first attempt at an apple pie and I will never use any other recipe. This was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Coming from a person that does not care for apple pie very much....This was..Perfect as written..Nuff said :))This is will be my Apple Pie Recipe from now on..Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is very good...I made a couple of changes though. I used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 6 granny smith apples (which was more than enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great Pie! It was really tasty and not very hard to make. I have a slicer that slices the apple which de-coring; it was quite helpful while slicing the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
SIMPLY! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My kids and I made this for Christmas (we had to omit the lemon due to a citrus allergy) and it was wonderfully delicious!! It lasted all of one day!!! I plan to definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made the recipe as written. It was too bland for my taste, and I prefer Granny Smith apples. I will use the potato starch again, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States