Mile-High Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great recipe! Always make it whenever I need a pie, and people LOVE IT! My only suggestion would be to cut back the amount of sugar/potato starch in the recipe, as I tend to end up with more than I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious! I use a mix of baking apples rather than all golden delicious and since I never have potato starch on hand, I just use corn starch. This is the pie people ask for at every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe! I MISTAKENLY added sugar (1/2cup white and 1/2 cup brown). I wish I had followed the recipe. The extra sugar was too much. That being said the flavor was good and I am sure without the additional sweet it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The taste was awesome, and I loved how the juices didn't flow all over the place when the pie was cut. I will note that I used cornstarch in lieu of potato starch...and I also used 1 1/2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar for the lemon juice. (I didn't want to go to the store for the ingredients I didn't have) One major change I will make for next time is just blending the sugar mixture in with the apples before putting the apples in the crust. After it finished baking, there was stll a heavy layer of t atop the apples...otherwise still very delicious...and nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was my first attempt at an apple pie and I will never use any other recipe. This was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Coming from a person that does not care for apple pie very much....This was..Perfect as written..Nuff said :))This is will be my Apple Pie Recipe from now on..Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is very good...I made a couple of changes though. I used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 6 granny smith apples (which was more than enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great Pie! It was really tasty and not very hard to make. I have a slicer that slices the apple which de-coring; it was quite helpful while slicing the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
SIMPLY! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My kids and I made this for Christmas (we had to omit the lemon due to a citrus allergy) and it was wonderfully delicious!! It lasted all of one day!!! I plan to definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States