Mildred's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I love to bake. I made this cake yesterday. I loved it, I added a few extras, instead of 2 sticks of butter I used 2 1/2 sticks, I also cut a lemon and squezzed it to the batter. I also used self rising flour instead of all purpose which eliminated the use of the baking soda. The next time I will use two bunt pans because it made so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This pound cake is exactly what pound cake should be! Dense, moist and flavorful. I used light sour cream and it worked out beautifully! It rose way over the top of my bundt pan so next time I'll probably make it in two loaf pans. Oh, and I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt. IMO, baked goods are better with a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
If you want a pound cake that is flavorful, moist gets rave reviews and guaranteed to come out every time, this is it! This recipe used to be posted with many many more reviews all saying the same thing. Some tips were to cut the vanilla in half and add 1/2 T of almond extract (a delicious idea). Others experimented with a little orange extract. Whatever flavoring you go with, the cake will be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Whichever word you choose to call it, this is a common, classic, standard pound cake recipe which can be found just about anywhere and everywhere in a quick internet or cookbook search. And it's also very good and very dependable. It's been around a long, long time, because it works. The large amount of vanilla is what distinguishes this from other variations and while I did use the amount called for, I didn't notice a difference from when I use just half that amount. So, vanilla being expensive, there's no reason to use more than needed. I baked half a recipe into 12 cupcakes, about 22-23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I added extra baking powder, thinking 1/4 tsp couldn't be enough...Believe me, it is. My pan almost overflowed. Cake is moist, heavy and sweet. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This cake was delicious! I just made if for a dinner party I had last night, and everyone loved it, especially my brother-in-law who doesn't really like cake. I only rated it as 4 stars because it didn't have the actual texture of pound cake ( it was a little lighter), but it was delicious just the same. I made it exactly to the directions. I will definitely make this cake again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutely yummy pound cake. It was hard to get out of the pan I am going to try Pam with flour next time I make this pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Excellent...I have been making this recipe for years.....very flavorful and moist. The best pound cake recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I tried this recipe for a BBQ get togheter on July 2nd and made a 3d cake using fondant and it was an absolute hit! Thanks. They only thing I add was skor chippits in it and it was scrumpcious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made as written with the following exceptions: 1) used only 4 tsps of vanilla instead of 2 Tablespoons. 2) added 2 tsps of almond extract for flavor 3) added 1/4 tsp of salt. I feared that the sugar would be too much, but it was not overly sweet. This recipe DOES make a lot of batter. I used a Nordicware Bundt which is rated for 10-15 cups of batter (the "anniversary" pan from Williams Sonoma), and the batter filled it approximately 2/3 - 3/4 full. With the rise, the cake rose above the pan top! So, yes, it's a big cake when done. Flavor was good, texture was decent. My only issue is with dryness. It was a tad on the dry side. Anyone have any tips on how to add moisture to this cake? Thanks! btong22222
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States