Mildred's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My 11yo made this to go with some strawberries we picked up. It was SO GOOD! Wonderful texture, great flavor! This is now our stand-by pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Absolutely Love! This may be my favorite go to pound cake recipe. Light- tasty... I added almond extract and craisins. My next cake I added lemon zest, juice & Blueberries with a lemon glaze. Fabulous! Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made as written with the following exceptions: 1) used only 4 tsps of vanilla instead of 2 Tablespoons. 2) added 2 tsps of almond extract for flavor 3) added 1/4 tsp of salt. I feared that the sugar would be too much, but it was not overly sweet. This recipe DOES make a lot of batter. I used a Nordicware Bundt which is rated for 10-15 cups of batter (the "anniversary" pan from Williams Sonoma), and the batter filled it approximately 2/3 - 3/4 full. With the rise, the cake rose above the pan top! So, yes, it's a big cake when done. Flavor was good, texture was decent. My only issue is with dryness. It was a tad on the dry side. Anyone have any tips on how to add moisture to this cake? Thanks! btong22222
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Well, after I cut off all the burn, it was really good! My oven cooks hotter and I should have cooked at lower temp. My fault. But it was still very good. Hubby liked and daughter too. Can't wait to try again! Thanks for sharing. 5 stars because it was still good even though I burnt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and what a mess. I baked over and then flopped. I guess I wil stick with cream cheese pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Easy peasy to make and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMAOF4NOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I tried this recipe for a BBQ get togheter on July 2nd and made a 3d cake using fondant and it was an absolute hit! Thanks. They only thing I add was skor chippits in it and it was scrumpcious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I love to bake. I made this cake yesterday. I loved it, I added a few extras, instead of 2 sticks of butter I used 2 1/2 sticks, I also cut a lemon and squezzed it to the batter. I also used self rising flour instead of all purpose which eliminated the use of the baking soda. The next time I will use two bunt pans because it made so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This cake was delicious! I just made if for a dinner party I had last night, and everyone loved it, especially my brother-in-law who doesn't really like cake. I only rated it as 4 stars because it didn't have the actual texture of pound cake ( it was a little lighter), but it was delicious just the same. I made it exactly to the directions. I will definitely make this cake again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Made this last night and everyone liked it. Didn't have vanilla, but still tasted great. Will make again, husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States