Mild Curry Powder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This worked great for us. I did not have corriander and used peppercorns in place. Very good recipe for a basic curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Awesome used in Madras Curry chicken! Smells great too. I subbed some things like Garam Masala instead of gr coriander since I didn't have any on hand and used 1 tsp Chinese hot mustard for the mustard and red pepper flakes. It turned out nice for the kids - you might up it some for some added kick. Will keep in pantry for many more recipes. (We mixed it with 1 cup yogurt and basted/baked chicken drumsticks with it - AWESOME!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Perfect! I ran out of curry powder RIGHT in the middle of a recipe (of course) and found this in time to save my lamb curry. :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
1/4 tsp cayene pepper instead of red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
It says mild curry powder. Curry is a mixture of spices. ANY change you make to a curry, and it becomes yours and not the author's. PLEASE at least a few of us need to rate it AS IS. It's not like chicken recipes where you get to say "3 more minutes in the oven and a squeeze of lemon saved this recipe." A curry is something you accept or don't accept. That is my story and I'm sticking to it. I think this rendition of a mild curry is excellent. As another reviewer stated, it didn't have any of the sweet spices. I am a home chef for a food publication and just recently, a recipe was given to me that required "curry powder." I bought a bottle, but it's at work, since I also fix lunch for the office. I was desperate because it was the last night to review the test recipe. This mild curry powder was a fantastic base for the "curry gravy." It lends itself to hundreds of variations. But just let this one be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was an amazing mild curry powder. I especially loved that it did not have any of the sweet spices that are put into curry powder nowadays but that really make it taste like garam masala. The only things I changed was substituting prepared dijon mustard (1 tbsp) for the mustard seeds and adding some chili powder (not mexican kind). When I used the mix in a curry dish, I also added a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very Nice mild Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I MADE A CURRY FOR SEASONING BULGAR. FOR 8 SERVINGS FROM THE RECIPE INGREDIANTS, I ADDED: 1/4t POWDERED ONION 1/4t GROUND BLACK PEPPER 1/8t GROUND CLOVES 1/4t GROUND NUTMEG THE PERSONS EATING THE BULGAR SAID THE CURRY FLAVORING WAS EXCELLENT. CURRY IS A MIXTURE OF VARIOUS SPICES AND HERBS; AND CAN BE ADJUSTED BY ADDING OR DELETIN GTHE INGREDIANTS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've been using this for Vietnamese curry, and it's delicious!! Love it!! I don't change anything from the original recipe. I put onion and garlic in the Vietnamese curry, so you do need to have those in your recipe when you use this mild curry powder. This recipe is better than any other I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States