Mild Curry Powder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Used this for a chicken curry salad tonight when we didn't have any more curry powder. Tasted great! Used 1/4 tsp ground cayenne pepper instead of 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Very good curry powder recipe indeed. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I was a curry virgin and this blend was great for me because I didn't have to wonder whether I would open a readymade jar and find that it was spicier than I liked. My whole family enjoyed it; we thought it was flavorful and fragrant without being too hot. In fact we might even add a touch more chili next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very Nice mild Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
1/4 tsp cayene pepper instead of red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have made this twice, the first time exactly as written (using a spice grinder) and I wasn't impressed. It didn't have a nice blend of flavor and the cumin seemed to overwhelm the blend. But it was mild, which I was looking for cooking for young children. The second time I used 1T of cumin seeds instead of ground cumin and that seemed to improve the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Perfect! I ran out of curry powder RIGHT in the middle of a recipe (of course) and found this in time to save my lamb curry. :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I thought it was very tasty and was relieved to find a make-your-own for this. I have purchased the jar kind...but don't think I'll be going back to that. I did add 1/8 tsp. of onion powder and 1/4 tsp. of cayenne (I like it spic-ay). :) Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACINDARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
It says mild curry powder. Curry is a mixture of spices. ANY change you make to a curry, and it becomes yours and not the author's. PLEASE at least a few of us need to rate it AS IS. It's not like chicken recipes where you get to say "3 more minutes in the oven and a squeeze of lemon saved this recipe." A curry is something you accept or don't accept. That is my story and I'm sticking to it. I think this rendition of a mild curry is excellent. As another reviewer stated, it didn't have any of the sweet spices. I am a home chef for a food publication and just recently, a recipe was given to me that required "curry powder." I bought a bottle, but it's at work, since I also fix lunch for the office. I was desperate because it was the last night to review the test recipe. This mild curry powder was a fantastic base for the "curry gravy." It lends itself to hundreds of variations. But just let this one be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Awesome used in Madras Curry chicken! Smells great too. I subbed some things like Garam Masala instead of gr coriander since I didn't have any on hand and used 1 tsp Chinese hot mustard for the mustard and red pepper flakes. It turned out nice for the kids - you might up it some for some added kick. Will keep in pantry for many more recipes. (We mixed it with 1 cup yogurt and basted/baked chicken drumsticks with it - AWESOME!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States