Mike's Peppered Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
The dehydrator and the oven made the beef extremely dry. Plus, I over used the black pepper. I have now seen Mikes addition about only using dehydrator for drying. Another than my mistakes for dehydrating and over use of black pepper, the recipe smelled awesome marinating. I won't make the same mistake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Amazing! I make this before long camping trips and it always hits the spot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
We made this for Christmas as gifts for our diabetic relatives...and the rest of us jerky lover's too. It was fabulous. The leaner the beef the shorter the dehydrator time and the safer the finished product. We used round steak, but found it still too fatty. We will use top round or some other type of leaner beef next time. However, the flavor was perfect..and no nitrites like store-bought jerky. Much cheaper too! We did not change anything in this recipe. Thanks Mike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Hey Mike - I have used this recipe several times AS IS and we love it! Some variations we have tried is adding more pepper and even a tablespoon of hot chili sauce for added kick. Thanks for sharing. I have some venison left from last fall that I want to cook to make room in the freezer and will be using it again shortly. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Beth Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
When I submitted this recipe step 6 was not included. I use only my dehydrater for drying and not the oven, this is why the time may be shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good but a bit too sweet for my taste. Will make again but alter the sugar quantity and really lay on the pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made this two weeks ago and it was ridiculously awesome! I added more pepper/spice because I like it hot and the results did not dissappoint. MY dehydrator, at 155 degrees only took 5 hours to dry them fully which seemed odd, but I haven't died yet. I am currently working on a second batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
made this yesterday...dh said it was great!!! only thing i did was 1/2 the recipe...used trimmed sirloin...will forsure make it again...thanks mike!!! ;o) ps i used my smoker (hickory & whiskey wood chips for about 4 hours on really low 200 degree heat) yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States