Mike's Mushroom Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
YUM! This was very good, but I did alter the recipe a little...I sauteed my mushrooms (I only used 8oz. sliced because I misread the recipe,lol), in a little extra virgin olive oil with salt, pepper, garlic powder and parsley to soften them up a bit because I was afraid that they wouldn't cook in the time alotted. I let them cool completely and proceeded with the recipe. I also didn't have quite enough shredded mozzarella, so I mixed mozzarella, shredded cheddar and some shredded swiss. I sliced my bread and toasted the one side, flipped them over, put the mixture on and broiled them until all melted and bubbly. This went very well with our pasta dinner and I know I will be using this recipe often! I think next time I will chop the mushrooms for more even distrubtion. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Fantastic!!! I could have eaten only this bread for dinner and been happy! Sinfully delicious. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
JMS5, thank you for a yummy bread recipe. It needs no alteration whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was great! no changes needed. my family loved it, I couldn't fix this enough for them, Thank you MIKE for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Really good - and garlicky! ! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Can I say OMG? This recipe deserves 10+ stars! My hubby and I DEVOURED it!! The only thing different I did was saute everything before putting it in the loaf to bake. We're going to make this again in place of a pizza night, it's a meal in itself. Thanks Mike for one fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Twas awsome....I ate mine with my spaghetti sauce on top, it was delicious and there wasnt any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Made this just like the recipe stated except I sauteed the mushrooms in a little butter first. The flavor of the cheese mixture was delicious but the bread was very dry. I only served half the loaf with dinner last night and wrapped the 2nd half in foil and popped it in the fridge to use tonight. I will broil the 2nd half tonight and let you know how it turns out. I'm hoping that the bread will stay soft, the edges lightly toasted and the cheese bubbly and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I didn't really follow the instructions, but this recipe deserves 5 stars anyway, because it is an awesome idea and inspiration - and it is very simple. I used Raclette cheese and dehydrated minced onions, and also dehydrated diced garlic, because I didn't have very much at home. I sliced the bread into thick diagonal slices instead of cutting it in half, and piled the mixture upon every slice. It was absolutely wonderful, and my roommate and I loved it so much, we made it again the next day. Oh, I also added salt and pepper, and some oregano. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Wow !! I made this yesterday, as we had out of town guests and family here. It went over very well. I used olive oil along with the butter. I am so pleased. I sure will make it again. Thank you Mike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States