Mike's Mushroom Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Mike you ROCK! This is the best bread ever! Forget using it as a side dish... main course complimented with a salad or bowl of soup and nothing else to it! Store didn't have un-sliced loaf so I just made the mixture as it called, spooned it open faced & baked. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulovebnzs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
FANTASTIC! Served as a side, along with burger patties and Mouse's Mac & Cheese. Made as written, and the crust came out buttery and crunchy. It's a keeper! Thanks, Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I don't review a lot of recipes on this site - I make a lot of them, but I'm rarely actually write a review. That being said, this recipe is amazing, and it's so amazing that I'm actually interrupting my kitchen-cleaning-up to post this. I subbed out green onions (didn't have any) for regular onions. For a half-batch: I chopped up the mushroom stems (used 8oz baby portabella), with 1/2 white onion chopped fine, about 2 cloves minced garlic, about 1/2 - 1 t. olive oil, 1/2 t. italian seasoning, 1/4 t. salt, and 1/2 t. hot-n-spicy Mrs Dash. Microwaved that for 2 minutes, then added the rest of the mushrooms caps, quartered and sliced thin. Microwaved that for 2 minutes, stirring after 1 min, then drained off the accumulated liquid. Stirred in 1/2 stick (4T, 1/4 cup) softened butter and 1c shredded mozzarella cheese. My only mistake: I didn't let the microwaved veggies cool enough before adding the cheese and butter, so the butter started to melt. I have celiac disease, so to make this Gluten Free, I used 4 premade frozen 6" GF pizza crusts (Glutino-brand). I partially prebaked them under the broiler (2 min each side), then evenly divided the mushroom/cheese mixture on them, and sprinkled a bit more cheese on top (about 1-2 T. on each). Broiled for 4 minutes total, until cheese was bubbling and starting to brown. Oh my goodness, it was so good! And it was fast - start-to-finish, everything took less than 20 minutes. I will definitely make this again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made about 1/4 of this recipe for the two of us. I used Swiss cheese rather than mozzarella, and as other reviewers suggested I briefly sautéed the mushrooms (I diced instead of sliced) and allowed them to cool completely before combining them with the other ingredients. I sliced my bread and toasted one side under the broiler, then topped the other side with the mushroom mixture and broiled again. This was good, but I wasn’t as wowed by it as some of the other reviewers. And, although this was tasty, it wasn’t appealing to the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I don't like mushrooms, but I participate in a local gardening co-op and we had a pound of mushrooms in our last basket. When I saw the mushrooms, I thought I'd just have my husband eat them because he likes them raw. With a little time, I thought I'd seek out a recipe here, and found this recipe. I made the bread to go with a steak dinner and I'll say that I loved the flavor!! I did not expect to like it at all, and was shocked that I loved it! I have added this recipe to our box of recipes and shared it with everyone! We love it!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I have made this several times, and its loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Made this for a Kentucky Derby party and it was a hit! The only change I made was I used roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Imelda Halim
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I modified this recipe, by using pastry dough and added sausage. TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imelda Halim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Michael, Michael, Michael...J'et adore, mon grande chou chou! Merci, merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
made this exactly as the recipe says, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States