Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
"Great for family and friends!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This was a very good dough and sauce recipe. I substituted olive oil for the shortening and it worked very well. The sauce was very good and complemented the veggies (mushrooms, red and green peppers that I added. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
EXCELLENT!!! I will make again and again with no changes! My whole family loved it, and it was fun for the kids to help make!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This pizza sauce is great!I encourage everyone who is considering making homemade pizza to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I used a different crust recipe but this pizza sauce is SENSATIONAL!!!! I always use the Ragu sauce in a jar and almost chose to do so this time. I had all the ingredients , it looked easy, so I tried it. I'll make this every time I make pizza! You won't be sorry with this recipe....IT IS S-O-O-0 GOOD and I followed directions to the tee! Thanks Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Ok if you're making Mexican pizza: the chili powder and cumin are out of place for a a traditional pizza sauce. Also way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I haven’t tried the dough, but the sauce is really great! I didn’t have any cumin (and don’t really like it anyway) so I left it out of the mix. It turned out great. I’ve also used splenda instead of the sugar, and it still turned out well. I’ve played with it a few times, and found that I like it best without the marjoram and cumin, but added more crushed red pepper, garlic powder, and basil. (doubled each of them in the recipe). I would highly recommend this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I made this once to the recipe, and it turned out very good. The next time, I used a different pizza dough (the main differences from this one are that it adds a tablespoon of honey and uses olive oil instead of shortening), but I kept almost the same sauce. Honestly, this is one of the best pizza sauces I've ever tasted. It's so good that it elevates the whole pizza to another level. My only changes to the sauce the second time around: I eliminated the cumin and chili powder, used premixed Italian seasoning in place of the basil + oregano + marjoram, and increased by half the amount of the remaining herbs and spices. Obviously, these alterations are just a matter of personal taste; the original recipe was great as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I made this for a football party. EVERYONE loved the sauce!! (I used store bought shells.) The sauce went great with both pizzas - pepperoni and tri-colored pepper pizza! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I didn't make the homemade pizza dough, instead used storebought dough, which was just as good because I was low on time. The sauce is what makes this pizza! Awesome, tasty, yummy. The sauce was enough for only one 12" pizza. But I like more sauce than some. Very good. I used pepperoni, mozzarella, olives, bell peppers, red onions and mushrooms as my topping. My husband said my pizza was better than ones sold in store. Even surprised myself, as this was my first time at making homemade pizza (minus the storebought dough). Great pizza sauce recipe! Gotta try it yourself. This is a keeper and ultra easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States