Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I use my own dough recipe but this sauce has become my standard recipe, and we eat ALOT of homemade pizza! It's really spicy and so full of flavor! I have had guests comment on how much they love the sauce more times than I can remember. It's also a really easy recipe to adjust depending on your taste ie more garlic, pepper, etc. The only thing I sometimes change is instead of water, using a can of whole roasted tomatoes, chopped, and the juice from that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I'm not a pizza-eater so I didn't try any of this, but my husband gave it 4 stars. I followed the advice of others and used all the dough for only one pizza since he prefers thick crust. I tried the sauce and it was different than I expected - spicy yet similar to spaghetti sauce. He really seemed to like it, though! And for homemade pizza it didn't take TOO long to make, so I'll probably make it for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I love homemeade pizzas not only because I am able to prepare them myself, but because I know what conditions that they are cooked under...lol. This is a very good recipe for both the dough and the sauce, I do however think that this dough IS better when rolled into a 14 inch double dough pizza vs. the 2 12 inch pies (baked the same time as the recipe states for the 12"). I tripled this and let everyone make their own, with the exemption of hubby & his buddy watching f-ball, whose was the 14 inch which I loaded with every ingredient imaginable and the crust held it all without a problem (no limpiness). It rolled nicely and didn't stick...which is a plus to me. It did sorta lack something (spice wise)...not sure what, but I will absolutely make it again and figure that one out. I had no complaints on the sauce at all....actually I was a little leery because it started out spaghetti sauce like, but thickened really well, and tasted delish. My 5 year old rolled and topped his own pizza and had a blast doing it. Thanks for the great recipe Mike I got 5 stars all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
this is a delicious recipe; the dough is not too dense or too light, but i would suggest not to use shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I thought the sauce was very good & my husband loved it! Although I didn't have time to make the dough so I just bought it already made. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I have a staff pizza party coming up and I tried this recipe out today..it was very easy and came out awesome!!! I followedthe recipe exactly and my "samplers" all were impressed. thanks alot will definetly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Made the sauce only and it was pretty good, my daughter thought it tasted too spaghetti sauce-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is some of the best pizza i have ever tasted. everyone should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I've never made pizza sauce before and chose this one because it looked like it would be really spicy - it was just what I was looking for. I added a little more red pepper because I like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigidoll74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
The sauce was great! I did use a diferent recipe, Pizza Dough II, for the crust since I prefer a crust with whole wheat and without shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States