Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I've made this several times, and we really like it. However, I like it much better as a thicker crust - I don't think it works well as a thin crust. Don't split the dough into two lumps, just spread the whole thing over the pizza pan. I didn't change the cooking time, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I used a different crust recipe but this pizza sauce is SENSATIONAL!!!! I always use the Ragu sauce in a jar and almost chose to do so this time. I had all the ingredients , it looked easy, so I tried it. I'll make this every time I make pizza! You won't be sorry with this recipe....IT IS S-O-O-0 GOOD and I followed directions to the tee! Thanks Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I love homemeade pizzas not only because I am able to prepare them myself, but because I know what conditions that they are cooked under...lol. This is a very good recipe for both the dough and the sauce, I do however think that this dough IS better when rolled into a 14 inch double dough pizza vs. the 2 12 inch pies (baked the same time as the recipe states for the 12"). I tripled this and let everyone make their own, with the exemption of hubby & his buddy watching f-ball, whose was the 14 inch which I loaded with every ingredient imaginable and the crust held it all without a problem (no limpiness). It rolled nicely and didn't stick...which is a plus to me. It did sorta lack something (spice wise)...not sure what, but I will absolutely make it again and figure that one out. I had no complaints on the sauce at all....actually I was a little leery because it started out spaghetti sauce like, but thickened really well, and tasted delish. My 5 year old rolled and topped his own pizza and had a blast doing it. Thanks for the great recipe Mike I got 5 stars all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I always make a recipe the way it is supposed to be made the first time, I wish I had made one 14" instead of 2-12" pizza's, the dough just lacks flavor but the texture is quite nice. The sauce was good but we felt the Cumin threw it off. I don't think I'll use the dough recipe again because it lacks. The sauce MAYBE without the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
UPDATE: I've made this sauce several times, very good. The sauce is really tomatoey and reminds me of an italian spaghetti/pasta sauce, in fact it would be a great dipping sauce with bread sticks. Crust I fiddled around with, it's easier to use another favorite one rather than try to keep tweaking this one. The sauce is worth keeping, dough is okay, it does have great crispy crackery texture and all. ORIGINAL REVIEW: This was fantastic. I got two 14 inch thin crust pizzas from this. The crust was very thin, light, and delicate, nicely crispy too. Like a cracker when I baked this on a perforated sheet on lowest oven rack. Dough was really stiff and seemed dry but I followed directions and it turned out great. Not a lot of flavor, but then does crust need a lot when it is a base? The sauce was really decent too. I made two pizzas and still froze some for another. This had some different ingredients than I am used to using for pizza sauce like the comino and chili powder. I didn't change a thing and really don't need too. Even though the crust could use some flavor, the texture is outstanding so it makes up for it. We all liked this and I will make it again. Thanks Mike, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
The rating is for the sauce since I did not make the dough. I found this sauce to be very tastey as I was heating it through in the saucepan. Unfortunately, when I took my pizza out of the oven, I found a very dry sauce that had lost most of it's moisture content. The flavor suffered as well. I'll stick with the jarred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
this is a really really good sauce! dont be thrown off by the cumin and the chili powder- it definitely adds a smoky and subtle flavoring to this sauce. delish! instead of water, i sub'ed tomato juice, i used brown sugar instead of white (to give a more caramel-y flavor/texture. and since i didnt have any marjoram on hand, i just double the oregano. and because i was a little skeptical of the cumin/chili, i halved both of those spices. i had to stop myself from eating the whole pot! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Amazing!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by etakily
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
At first we were worried that the dough wouldn't turn out right, but it was perfect and the sauce--magic! I suggest topping it with parmesan and mozzerela. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etakily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
For beginners, this recipe is great! My girlfriend and I have made it a couple of times and decided to try it out on some friends; it was a success! The sauce can taste a little pasty if you don't add enough spices. I like to add fresh diced garlic to the sauce while it's cooking and I also added some spices to the dough while i kneaded it. In sum, a great pizza that's easy enough to make if you've got the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States