Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
The sauce was great! I did use a diferent recipe, Pizza Dough II, for the crust since I prefer a crust with whole wheat and without shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made just the sauce yesterday night - put in on pita with chopped tomatoes, mushrooms, feta cheese and mozarella. It was GREAT. It was just spicy enough, and adding more pepper flakes would increase the spiciness is needed. I loved it, will defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I really enjoyed working with the pizza dough in this recipe, the amounts of ingredients were perfect, it didn't stick much and it rose quickly. And it was EASY! I added a bit of sugar to the water and yeast so it would activate quicker. It made two nice 12 inch pizzas, just like the recipe said. After it was baked, it was pretty breadlike, but having a pizza stone may remedy that. I sort of followed the recipe for the pizza sauce, which I was skeptical about- tomato paste and water didn't sound that good. Surprise! It tasted excellent and the only thing I changed is I used less salt and used some pre-mixed pizza seasoning instead of all those listed in the recipe. Also, I like a lot of sauce and was concerned there wouldn't be enough, based on other reviews. The amount in the recipe turned out to be perfect, though. If I could separate them, I'd give 5 stars for the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
All my friends liked it but I didn't think it was great. I doubled the recipe and made one thin crust and two deep dish. The sauce didn't really suit my taste, but everyone else said it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Mae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I've made this several times, and we really like it. However, I like it much better as a thicker crust - I don't think it works well as a thin crust. Don't split the dough into two lumps, just spread the whole thing over the pizza pan. I didn't change the cooking time, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This was my first time making pizza. I found this recipe to be pretty easy. The crust and the sauce turned out pretty good. Topped the pizza with chicken,mushrooms, artichoke hearts and cheese, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
The sauce was delicious and so easy to prepare. I added red pepper flakes and it was perfectly spicy. Definitely a success! I used the "Amazing whole wheat pizza crust" instead from this website for the dough and used this pizza sauce recipe. So I am rating just the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Amazing!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I haven't tried the dough, but the sauce gets five stars from my family! We make the dough from another recipe on this site (Jay's Signature Pizza Crust). The sauce is very good - adds just the right touch to the pizza. We always substitute olive oil for the vegetable oil and skip the cumin. We have also found that making a single serving of it is not enough for two pizzas, but doubling the sauce makes quite a bit more than you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
The rating is for the sauce since I did not make the dough. I found this sauce to be very tastey as I was heating it through in the saucepan. Unfortunately, when I took my pizza out of the oven, I found a very dry sauce that had lost most of it's moisture content. The flavor suffered as well. I'll stick with the jarred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States