Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wasn't to fond of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
UPDATE: I've made this sauce several times, very good. The sauce is really tomatoey and reminds me of an italian spaghetti/pasta sauce, in fact it would be a great dipping sauce with bread sticks. Crust I fiddled around with, it's easier to use another favorite one rather than try to keep tweaking this one. The sauce is worth keeping, dough is okay, it does have great crispy crackery texture and all. ORIGINAL REVIEW: This was fantastic. I got two 14 inch thin crust pizzas from this. The crust was very thin, light, and delicate, nicely crispy too. Like a cracker when I baked this on a perforated sheet on lowest oven rack. Dough was really stiff and seemed dry but I followed directions and it turned out great. Not a lot of flavor, but then does crust need a lot when it is a base? The sauce was really decent too. I made two pizzas and still froze some for another. This had some different ingredients than I am used to using for pizza sauce like the comino and chili powder. I didn't change a thing and really don't need too. Even though the crust could use some flavor, the texture is outstanding so it makes up for it. We all liked this and I will make it again. Thanks Mike, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was the first time I've ever made homemade pizza and it was great. I always have to make myself follow the recipe the first time and boy, I'm glad I did. The sauce was different, but really good. I also made my own sauce to compare and once we tasted them side to side, the southwestern flavors are more apparent. I got two crusts on my Pampered Chef pizza stone out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I really liked the sauce, I just used that portion of the recipe to make Pita Pizzas and they turned out great! The spiciness of the sauce was the best part,e specially when juxtaposed with fresh tomatoes and spinach leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I have done this dough and few times and it is just way to bland for me. The sauce is good though but the dough needs adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Never had a made pizza dough before and this was so easy. The dough is great!! It was crunchy on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. The sauce has great seasoning and flavor; the cumnin and chili powder added a little kick to it. Thank you for the great recipe. It is definitely one that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
WOW! An amazing dough. I use this recipes to make rolls, bread, and the pizza dough. It is one of the best doughs I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ovid, Colorado, USA
Living In: Proctor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is sooooooo good! My kids (who hate onions) have gobbled this down and didn't know they were eating onions. This is not your average homemade pizza. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Awesome! I just add a little garlic powder and oregano to the crust. The sauce is the best EVER! A true hit at our house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I didn't use the recipe for dough, but the sauce was awesome! I subbed white sugar for brown. Also, I didn't have some of the spices, so I doubled the oregano and added more red pepper flakes. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States