Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Everyone in my household enjoyed this! I followed the directions almost to the T. I didn't have any dried marjoram, but I just so happened to have some fresh marjoram in the garden and used that. The sauce was really good. The flavor on the crust was lacking, but it did cook to perfection on the bottom rack of my oven. My fiancé likes a really thin crust and I like a nice, thick crust. I did 2 12" pies as the directions state and it was medium thickness, probably thicker than what my fiancé likes but almost perfect for me. I think this is a great starter recipe. Next time, I will try adding more salt or something to the crust. I wouldn't change much about the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jstack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have used this recipe for pizza crust for two years. Consistent, puffs up slightly. Sauce is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I am only rating the sauce. I followed the recipe exactly and the sauce was good but not great. It got so-so ratings from our family. Another reviewer suggested using fresh, roasted tomatoes instead of the paste. I think that would be better. I would also add garlic and probably skip the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Sauce mix was very good. I did use 1 cup whole wheat flour and two cups white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Only used the recipe for the sauce since the crust got poor reviews. The sauce ended up giving me only a 1/2 cup of pasty red gunk with a bunch of seasonings tossed in. Waste of my time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
made this tonight with 2 of my 5 yr old grands and it was fun, easy and very tasty !! those 2 young'uns almost ate the whole pizza...will be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Eagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I tried pizza on my own from scratch one time before finding this recipe and it was a disaster. I've used yours a few times now, and it's close to perfect. Thanks, mate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is the best pizza recipe I've ever made! This is a keeper! The only difference was that I added some sugar to the yeast because I was having a hard time getting it to proof. Oh, and I had almost all the herbs fresh. I didn't add the cumin... I may someday, but I wasn't brave enough today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Just tried the sauce, nice and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was awesome! Thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States