Mike's Favorite Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is one of my favorite classic sandwiches. I stick some dill pickle chips in the sandwich after the cheese is melted. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is the BEST way to make a grilled cheese - the secret is using real butter, not margarine, softened and smoothed on all the way to the crust's edge - I switch out american cheese with shredded mozzerella and sprinkle the inside with a touch of garlic powder and pre-mixed "italian seasoning" in a jar for a yummy italian-style sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
The basic grilled cheese, but when I was pregnant; I couldn't get enough cheese. Soooo I added cream cheese on one of the inside layers of bread after I put it on the pan and put the cheese on top of the cream cheese. Still love it to this day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Allrecipes wouldn't be truly have all recipes without this one, and I wouldn't have thought to cook it had I not run across it while in stump as to what to make. Try some variations based upon what is available to you, and what you like in a normal sandwich, always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Love a grilled cheese every once in awhile! The BEST way to eat a grilled cheese is with some chili in it...seriously! Try it and you'll be hooked as I was! For those college students, canned chili even. BTW...eat with fork, may be messy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
An all time classic. I make them this way all the time. Sometimes I add a little ham or ham and onion. Another slight change is to brush the bread with a little olive oil and omit the butter. It makes the bread a litte crisper. As I said though an all time classic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Good basic recipe. I like to add to it. sliced tomatoes, bacon, ham. Sometimes whatever is leftover in the fridge. Also the best way to cut a grilled cheese is with a pizza cutter !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I personally like grilled cheese with processed cheese slices as it gets that ooey-gooeyness! At home I ALWAYS use onion and sometimes ham or turkey. I think I will try the suggestion of bacon like one reviewer said. Maybe try to mix an american slice with a swiss slice too, it's nummy! Oh also, I saw a tip on another toasted sandwich recipe from this site saying to keep it from getting soggy is to toast the bread first. It works and I'll never go back to the old way! I lightly toast the bread, let it cool on wooden cutting board (so butter won't melt), then butter and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I have to say; hey, love that the site put this up, cuz some out there wouldn't know the delight of the original grilled cheese! My version? I put mayonnaise on the inside of the bread with the American cheese; and yes, a nice med-low heat to get the perfect crunchy "grilled" flavor. Dont know why, but this is a favorite of almost every person I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States