Mike's Favorite Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
While some wondered why this is posted as a "recipe", for me a, 17 year old male, home alone alot, it is nice to see somewhere just to make sure I am doing it right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allendale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Not everyone is raised learning how to cook. One thing I LOVE about this site is sharing the differences and regional varieties to things I've become accustomed to while growing up. My sons are in their early-mid 20's and never "grasped" what I tried to teach; except they both prefer making their own meals rather than having fast food - therefore I think this is a fantastic addition to AR family! Thanks for sharing this staple recipe - my boys sure appreciate it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
What can you say about the original? I love grilled cheese, it is a great hot meal with soup when it is just me for dinner. I like to add ham to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I gave this a rating b/c I had to, but I have made grilled cheese since I was little and I didn't need this recipe's help. Which leads me to some questions, not to be rude, but - do people really not know how to make a grilled cheese, and can you really post a recipe such as this and take credit for it? I like to use my George Foreman grill for grilled cheese. Its easy, quick, healthy, and virtually no clean up - you don't have to scrub a buttery pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Allrecipes wouldn't be truly have all recipes without this one, and I wouldn't have thought to cook it had I not run across it while in stump as to what to make. Try some variations based upon what is available to you, and what you like in a normal sandwich, always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I never tried it with butter because of the fat, so i put a little on and it didnt burn as easy~! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Okay, Mike - I was looking for a baked cheese sandwich and came across this. Then, I was curious to find out why in the title this was a favorite? THIS IS EXACTLY HOW I MAKE MY GRILLED CHEESE! I did not know there was a recipe for a basic grilled cheese? Then, again I think I have seen recipes on here for baked potatoes and fried eggs. I haven't come across toast yet, but haven't looked! Either way, I use somewhat less butter and sometimes 1 1/2 pieces of cheese. Cook the grilled cheese on no higher than 5 and only flip once. No flattening the grilled cheese with a spatula either! Follow this and you will get a buttery crispy delicious grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I personally like grilled cheese with processed cheese slices as it gets that ooey-gooeyness! At home I ALWAYS use onion and sometimes ham or turkey. I think I will try the suggestion of bacon like one reviewer said. Maybe try to mix an american slice with a swiss slice too, it's nummy! Oh also, I saw a tip on another toasted sandwich recipe from this site saying to keep it from getting soggy is to toast the bread first. It works and I'll never go back to the old way! I lightly toast the bread, let it cool on wooden cutting board (so butter won't melt), then butter and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
What is better than a classically prepared grilled cheese? This is a great sandwich. I agree with ~TNT~ adding that tomato is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Seriously there is nothing better. My son loves these, and so do I. Basics are best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States