Mike's Favorite Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I have never really considered how to make a grilled cheese sandwich a "recipe", but I guess that I just assumed that eevryone knew how to make one! I didn't know that there was any other way to make grilled cheese. I have making them like this my whole life, learning from watching my mother. For those that mentioned the sandwich getting too brown before the cheese is melted - just turn the heat down to about medium low- the cheese will be nice and gooey and the outside toasted just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Classic. Sometimes the simplest are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
To melt the cheese before the bread burns, put a small ice cube in the pan with the bread and cover it with a lid from a sauce pot. The steam melts the cheese pronto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I used regular sliced cheese rather than processed. Turned out very well. The bread was crispy on the outside and soft / cheesy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is just the way my dad would make grilled cheese when I was growing up, only he would add mayonnaise at the end--YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wellford, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I am too lazy to butter the bread, I just put the butter pat in the skillet and let it that way. Then, when I flip it over I do the same thing, holding the sandwich on my spatula in the air for the 30 seconds it takes to melt the butter. As far as our sandwiches go, we like to sometimes add tomato slices and/or bacon slices. Pair this with tomato soup and you have a tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
this is the best recipie for grilled cheese i can think of. Ive tried many different variations, including provalone or swiss, and also potato bread. If you really got a hunger pang, make it with a double (or even triple?) layer of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Easy and good. Placing the butter on the bread first made the grilling less messy. The only challange is making the flip. I've made it twice and the cheese has never melted enough to stick to the top of the bread. You'll also need to watch out for the bread 'cuz it browns fast when the heats up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I love this recipie! It's also pretty good with mozzarella instead of American. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States