Mike's Favorite Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Classic grilled cheese. The only thing I can add is it makes a huge difference to cook low and slow. Low heat and slow cooking will give you a really nice toasty crunch. My 12 year old just learned how to make his own, and is a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This is THE way to make an awesome grilled cheese! I read the reviews and I am definitely going to try it in the Foreman grill now. It's delicious with Campbell's Tomato Bisque. Dip the sandwich in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Add a sliced tomato with cracked black pepper to make it extra delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This is my kids favorite way to eat grilled cheese. We usually double up on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
YES! Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best. Very easy to follow and is a great start for beginner cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Had to put in my "2 cents" because this really is the best way to make grilled cheese. I melt my butter in the microwave and brush it on the bread. I got a kick out of "Paintballmommy's" review because most of us learned from the time we were seven how to make grilled cheese. However, I must justify this "recipe" by saying that although my family gets a homemade cooked meal six days a week and they know that I can pretty much tell them how to make most dishes, the kids do enjoy surfing this site to find things they can cook with their friends. Although they're teens now, they've been doing this since I joined. Just for fun, try putting a bit of minced red onion and barbeque sauce on your cheese before you grill. I love it; especially when I use cheddar. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I gave this a rating b/c I had to, but I have made grilled cheese since I was little and I didn't need this recipe's help. Which leads me to some questions, not to be rude, but - do people really not know how to make a grilled cheese, and can you really post a recipe such as this and take credit for it? I like to use my George Foreman grill for grilled cheese. Its easy, quick, healthy, and virtually no clean up - you don't have to scrub a buttery pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
A true classic... And so what if it seems basic and/or obvious to some people? All cooks have to start somewhere, even if it's boiling an egg or making grilled cheese... Anyway, if you want to gourmet this up a little, try the 'Greek Grilled Cheese' recipe on this site. Super awesome!! (Oh, and if you're interested in dropping a few calories, make your grilled cheese the British way - toast your bread, top with cheese, then throw it under the broiler until the cheese is brown and bubbly. Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I have never really considered how to make a grilled cheese sandwich a "recipe", but I guess that I just assumed that eevryone knew how to make one! I didn't know that there was any other way to make grilled cheese. I have making them like this my whole life, learning from watching my mother. For those that mentioned the sandwich getting too brown before the cheese is melted - just turn the heat down to about medium low- the cheese will be nice and gooey and the outside toasted just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Classic. Sometimes the simplest are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States