Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
excellent! Great on tacos! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
So... I didn't follow the directions exactly and that being said, this beef is FANTASTIC!!! Due to deciding to make it for dinner for 2 in the early afternoon, I used a 2# skirt steak, halved the spices, replaced the beer with cola, omitted tarragon just cause I didn't have any, and slow cooked it on medium-high for 2-1/2 hours. Fork shredding it was a little difficult since I fast tracked the cooking process, ended up doing most of it by hand, but once it was shredded I returned it to the liquid for another 30mins. Then switched it to Warm setting and used the liquid to make awesome spicy mexi rice. Made beef burritos with rice, black beans, avocado, lettuce, tomato, sour cream and cheddar and they were declared the BEST burritos I've ever made! I'll make grilled quesadillas tomorrow and I can already tell this is the kind of meat that's even better the next day. I can't wait to try it 'the right way' and cook it slow and low. Maybe next time I'll try with beer- And for those who said the beer added a bitter taste, I think to avoid that use a good dark beer (like Negro Modelo or Guiness), at least that's true with corned beef which is a similar process. THANKS!!! TOTAL KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I made this dish for an open house with many other dishes and had great reviews from all the people who attended. This an recipe can be made in advance and also freezes well. I tortillas and bread and people liked it on both I plan to try it in a puff pastry crust as an appetizer for an up coming holiday party. Don't be afraid of all the items in the dish it really gives the meat a great overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good! A little spicy, but we served it on tortillas with sour cream, cheese, and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Hmm... I followed the recipe exactly, except for decreasing the hot sauce to 1 1/2 Tbsp. and used only one jalepeno pepper and this was still a quite a bit too hot for our taste. Cooked this all day (10+ hours) on low and still was not pull apart tender, actually was quite tough. I haven't had this problem with cooking a roast in a crock all day before. Never-the-less we used the meat (cut into chunks) on burritos loaded with sour cream and cheese to kill some of the heat and it was palateable. Probably won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I used maybe a pound and a half of chuck roast, cut up, and dumped everything into the pressure cooker, everything except the beer, didn't have so subbed 1 cup homemade beef stock, and used red bell pepper instead. Cut some spices in half but kept garlic and jalapenos the same. I let it marinate for a while cuz we wern't ready to eat, then cooked. Made burritos. Dinner went like this, take a bite say "This is SO GOOD." Repeat after every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was a very flavorful dish and reminded me of the meat I get when we go to Chipotles. So if you like that - this was excellant. To go even further with this dish next time I think I will add a chipotle with some adobe sauce from the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Super yum! I added a can of coke...what the heck. Next time I will put the crockpot out on the back porch. The house smelled like meaty yumminess for a week! I used it for sandwiches, quesidillas and enchiladas. Sooo good, yo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Made this dish according to recipe. Smelled great, but tasted just ok. Will make again, however because husband liked it. We made shredded beef taco salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Good recipe. Used on venison, and it took the gamey taste out. Great for shredded beef tacos. A little spicy for little kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States