Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Nikkivazquez
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was a huge disspaointment to me. I followed the recipe exactly but I just did not like the way this tasted at all. In my opinion the Worsteshire and beer just did not mesh together well and with the hot sauce mixed in it just had the worst smell as it was cooking. My husband even commented on the smell. I definately will not try to attempt this one again but will stick to the traditional way of making Mexican style shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkivazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this tonight and it got rave reviews! I put the roast in the crockpot last night since it was frozen and put the garlic on top. I cooked it all night and most of the day and it was SO good! I have never had such wonderful tasting beef in a restaurant! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My wife loves shredded beef. Like some suggested I made a fajita type dish out of it. It was easy to cook and with a great flavor. This was the first dish I ever cooked in a slow cooker, and will do again. It was a hit. I personally like spicy food, and did not find it spicy. Everyone i fed it to does not though so i cut down on the hot sauce, they still found it spicy. So if you dont like spicy cut out the hot sauce. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Divine beef could be another name for this recipe! All the men in my house (including the 7 year old) raved about this shredded beef recipe. I changed nothing, except for the last 45 min or so had to add water-would have preferred beef stock, but I had none. Great recipe and thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
excellent! Great on tacos! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
So... I didn't follow the directions exactly and that being said, this beef is FANTASTIC!!! Due to deciding to make it for dinner for 2 in the early afternoon, I used a 2# skirt steak, halved the spices, replaced the beer with cola, omitted tarragon just cause I didn't have any, and slow cooked it on medium-high for 2-1/2 hours. Fork shredding it was a little difficult since I fast tracked the cooking process, ended up doing most of it by hand, but once it was shredded I returned it to the liquid for another 30mins. Then switched it to Warm setting and used the liquid to make awesome spicy mexi rice. Made beef burritos with rice, black beans, avocado, lettuce, tomato, sour cream and cheddar and they were declared the BEST burritos I've ever made! I'll make grilled quesadillas tomorrow and I can already tell this is the kind of meat that's even better the next day. I can't wait to try it 'the right way' and cook it slow and low. Maybe next time I'll try with beer- And for those who said the beer added a bitter taste, I think to avoid that use a good dark beer (like Negro Modelo or Guiness), at least that's true with corned beef which is a similar process. THANKS!!! TOTAL KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I made this dish for an open house with many other dishes and had great reviews from all the people who attended. This an recipe can be made in advance and also freezes well. I tortillas and bread and people liked it on both I plan to try it in a puff pastry crust as an appetizer for an up coming holiday party. Don't be afraid of all the items in the dish it really gives the meat a great overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good! A little spicy, but we served it on tortillas with sour cream, cheese, and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Hmm... I followed the recipe exactly, except for decreasing the hot sauce to 1 1/2 Tbsp. and used only one jalepeno pepper and this was still a quite a bit too hot for our taste. Cooked this all day (10+ hours) on low and still was not pull apart tender, actually was quite tough. I haven't had this problem with cooking a roast in a crock all day before. Never-the-less we used the meat (cut into chunks) on burritos loaded with sour cream and cheese to kill some of the heat and it was palateable. Probably won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I used maybe a pound and a half of chuck roast, cut up, and dumped everything into the pressure cooker, everything except the beer, didn't have so subbed 1 cup homemade beef stock, and used red bell pepper instead. Cut some spices in half but kept garlic and jalapenos the same. I let it marinate for a while cuz we wern't ready to eat, then cooked. Made burritos. Dinner went like this, take a bite say "This is SO GOOD." Repeat after every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States