Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Mmmm, we really enjoyed this. It's a unique recipe because it's spicy and flavorful but without the usual flavor of Mexican beef. I was out of liquid smoke and had to make without and it was still delicious. I also didn't have any fresh produce so left out all the veggies, if I were to add them in the future I'd probably chop and add with 1-2 hours left on the cooking time, just to preserve their texture. The large ingredient list makes for a very complex and satisfying flavor, will make again with few if any changes, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I thought this was a good recipe. Although instead of hot pepper sauce, and Jalapenos, I used one can of chiles in adodo sauce. It came out plenty spicy. I do have to agree that the dry spices were too many and complicated. I have found simply rub Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle Blend, along with garlic powder, salt and black pepper does the trick. Then keep the liquid ingredients the same or just dump in a jar of favorite salsa. Still add in your onion, bell pepper, and throw in some frersh garlic ! Easier and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was sooo flavorful!! We used all of the ingredients as listed. It is very spicy, but full of flavor! I did add 1 and 1/2 cans of beer when I saw it was going to dry out, worked out perfect!! I also had to make a few burritos after 8 hrs of cooking, the meat shredded and was very good! I will be using this recipe again...Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is our favorite way to have tacos. The flavors are fantastic. I use less (a lot less) of the hot pepper sauce since we have young children, but do everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Really good. I liked all the spices that were used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was delicious, just made it tonight. I followed the recipe except for leaving out the liquid smoke flavoring and taking the seeds off the jalapenos. Next time I would definitely add the liquid smoke flavoring and probably another onion. I loved how the onions turned out. The meat was super tender and easy to shred and that was after only 7 hours in the crockpot (although I did use grass fed beef which cooks a little faster). I recommend this easy dish to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Easy. Tasted great. I used 1 roasted Hatch chile and left out the green pepper and jalapeno. I didn't have beer (hubby drank it while I wasn't looking) and so I used beef consomme instead. I used Franks Red Hot cayenne pepper sauce and cut it in half so it wouldn't be too spicy for the family. I only had a 2.5 lb. chuck roast though but I cooked it the entire time and the broth was all gone giving this an almost burned aftertaste. (my error not the recipe) I did use mesquite liquid smoke. Thanks I served this with flour tortillas and corn tortillas. We preferred this with the corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I used this one a big scale - I quadrupled the ingredients for 21 pounds of beef. Because it was for a crowd, I cut way back on the cayenne. The result was very flavorful without being too spicy. This is a very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was SOOO Awesome Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Perfect for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States