Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
delicious! used cola and baked in the oven in a dutch oven for about 2 hours at 350 and 6 hours at 250. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This has become a new favorite! Sooo good! We are making it for the Superbowl. We serve it with small rolls and tortillas.It is great in sandwiches and tortillas. The flavor of the roast is incredible! This has become a staple in our home. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
not my favorite...beer (Corona) seemed to take away from the flavor, not add anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The best shredded beef i have ever had. My family begs me to make this. I didn't follow the recepie exactlly. Another user on here suggested using mrs. dash chipotle seasoning so i did that instead of trying to buy all the seasonings it called for. I used soda instead of beer. I just rubbed mrs. dash all over the meat and seasoned it with seasoned salt and garlic salt and followed the rest of the receipe exactlly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Made this exactly as written and it was awesome! The variety of ingredients make it so flavorful and well worth the work. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. My only warning - be careful which "heat" of hot pepper sauce you use. I used the HOTTEST one we had since it was such a large amount of meat - wow, it sure had a kick. My husband and son loved it, but I think they would put hot sauce on cereal. I would also say that this recipe is very versatile you could use this meat for lots of things. I put it in the crock pot over night and we had it for a football game half time. Perfect! * I didn't have liquid smoke so I substituted 2 tsp molasses and it gave it a slight smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is delicious! It's so surprising to bite into roast beef that is this spicy. We like to make this to serve with other Mexican foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is delicious. I use it when making my enchiladas. It's a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vagabum Mike
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I give this 3.5 stars but admit I did not make it as described. First I bought a Top Round roast which did not turn out as moist in the middle as it could have been (I did not cut in half because it was in a net). For the rub I did not have any celery salt or tarragon so had to do without but I did leave the rub on to set overnight in hopes of getting a stronger flavor. Also I did not have a slow cooker so had to use the stove and decided to make enough liquid to keep the meat covered. I used 16 oz. of Mexican Beer and added 1 cup of beef broth, 1 cup of salsa and 1 can of green chillies with juice. I simmered the meat on low with a tight lid for 11 hours. The smell of the liquid smoke seemed more like Tex BBQ though so I might leave that off next time I wish to make a Mexican dish like Machaca Con Huevo (shredded beef with egg). For the Machaca, after shredding the beef I stir fried one chopped onion, a bell pepper and another can of green chillies with 1/2 cup of the reduced liquid from the pot. Then I soaked 21 oz. of the shredded beef in 4 raw scrambled eggs, then dumped it all in the pan with the veggies, a cup of chopped cilantro and scrambled them with 8 more eggs (for a total of 12). I served it with tortillas, avocado, cilantro and salsa-see photos. It turned out pretty good, but I think I can do better with the beef. Next time I may try the "Slow Cooker Carnitas" recipe (which is great) but sub in the chuck roast and beef broth instead and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vagabum Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Awesome!!! I made this for company. Everyone loved it. I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States