Miguelina's Poblanos and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
MUY SABROSO! That means it's great! I tried the variations listed and a few of my own. Such a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
My grocery store doesn't carry pablanos so I tried the recipe with jalapenos. Following the advice of another cook, I blackened the peppers in the broiler which worked well. They were still a bit time-consuming. Per the alternative cooking methods I dipped them in egg white first and used mont jack cheese. My husband loved them but these will have to be just a once in a while venture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
My husband and family are from Mexico and his mom just got here not long ago and taught me a recipe close to this. The differences are she likes to use Cotija cheese. Preferably freshly packaged at a mexican store and the she will coat the stuffed poblano with a thick coat of wisked egg whites before flouring. Then after browning them she adds them to a thickened tomatoe soup like base consisting of tomatoes, cumin, onion, garlic, and salt and simmer for a few minutes. Yes, its a mess but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This tasted great but what a mess. I learned afterward that you can just broil the pepers in the oven in order to blacken them. Much less messy and probably better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milktoast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
The most wonderful, flavorful dish!! I made these for the first time a couple of weeks ago as a side dish and my family loved them! They are amazing! Extremely easy to follow recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INSPARATION

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I followed the insructions to the letter, but I suppose it's possible that I did something wrong. I had trouble blackening the peppers equally on all sides and removing the skins. Then, when I heated the oil and fried the peppers, my house filled with smoke! My poor dogs fled the kitchen (which is a first!), fearing for their lives. The flavor was nice— surprisingly mild, but it just wasn't what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I really liked this but I like more of a batter. But these were so good that we thought about chopping them up and making nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Both ways of preparing are delicious. When peppers are on sale I buy a large quantity. I wash them, dry slightly, and oil them on the outside. Place them in a cookie sheet and broil them on high. Do not walk away, open door, check and turn as needed to brown all sides. When skins are almost black remove from oven, place in plastic bag to loosen the skin, then peel the peppers. Now you can freeze them, single layer on a cookie sheet, after that place in freezer bag. Then when you feel like having one they are ready. They will keep for months in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Made Pork Carnitas last night and fixed this for the side everyone loved them. It was a little spicy for some but it was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This is a great recipe! Very authentic, I lived in Mexico for 8 years and this is right on the money! Here's another tip for those of you who do not like battered things. Follow the same instruction here (toasting and removing the skin( but instead of coating the chiles, cut them into strips and fry them with strips of onion. Once they are cooked, add the cheese and some cream. This makes a nice gooey mess that you can eat in tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States