Migas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My grandparents came from Mexico and I grew up eating this dish. I prefer the ratio of 1 egg to 1 tortilla. I first cut the tortilla into thin strips about 2" long by 1/2 inch thick and fry the tortillas until they are crisp all the way through. Remove from pan, lightly salt and drain on paper towel. Then I add chopped onion and saute until soft, add the beaten eggs that have been lightly seasoned with garlic salt, then spread the fried tortilla strips over the eggs. You can now add salsa if you like or not. Once the eggs are set on the bottom, flip the eggs over small sections and cook until done. The tortilla strips should be softened and give the eggs an almost "meaty" taste. You may garnish with shredded cheese, sour cream and avacado slices. For meat-eaters you can add crumbled bacon as a garnish. Migas are a 5 star recipe and everybody that eats them, loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My best friend is Mexican and taught me how to make Migas. As we were cooking the tortillas, we decided to throw in some other things I had on hand...We ended up adding fresh pico de gallo, sliced jalapenos, shredded cheese, and cumin, which is a MUST for this dish. We then took flour tortillas, spread a layer of refried beans, added a serving of the migas, topped with hot sauce and sliced avocado, and rolled the tortilla into a breakfast burrito. SO GOOD! This is one of my favorite meals to make. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I have been making something like this for a few years now after having eaten it in Mexico when I lived there. Now my children even love it! An addition I can suggest is to add salsa (any heat you desire)or a green tomatillo salsa to the pan after the eggs have set up. You can also sprinkle shredded cheese (your favorite or a good Manchego)to the top of everything OR serve it as is with a side of black beans and sliced avocado. Makes for a hearty brunch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I grew up eating this dish as well. I don't know if it was because my Mexican father taught my mother to make it (and she revised it), but we always added diced tomatoes and green chile salsa. This has always been a favorite of mine, and traditionally, it is a way of using old, partly dried corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Great starter recipe! I sauteed around 1/4 cup of chopped onions in butter until soft before adding the torn tortillas. It was very tasty. Even my children, who usually don't care for eggs, enjoyed this dish. Make sure that you allow the tortillas to crisp around the edges (you may need to add a bit more oil for this to happen) as it makes all the difference in the world in the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I loved the idea of this recipe, but didn't have any corn tortillas on hand. I did have corn chips, though, so I crushed them into the beaten eggs and then scrambled it all together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I added jalopinos, onion and tomato to the mixture. I also added chedder cheese on top. At the table I added salsa and sour cream. The end result oh so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I prefer a 1:1 egg tortilla ratio and half butter half evoo. I like to add red bell for color and diced (already cooked) potatoes. Zip thru tortillas with pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good recipe.A friend of mine once told me about migas.This was my first time cooking/trying them and I was very impressed.It really hits the spot.I just made a serving for myself so I used 4 corn tortillas and two eggs.I also threw in one chipotle peopper along with about a tsp. of the adobo sauce,and a little black peopper.Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisRrTx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
We thought it very good & filling. I added taco seasoning from the spice section, plus Mexican cheese to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Scramble Eggs

See how to whip up fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States