Midwestern House Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Only for those with a serious sweet tooth! Cloyingly sweet ... I used the site calculator to cut the recipe in half, thank goodness, because a quart of this as-is would be such a waste of ingredients and time! Still and all, two cups of this seemed like a lot to throw out, so I tinkered and tinkered and tinkered until I got a salad dressing I felt would be tasty to my palate. I won't bother detailing what I did, because my version might not be one others would find tasty; in addition, since I know I will never make this again, I didn't write down how I modified it. Forewarned is forearmed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a great salad dressing and very easy to prepare. It also makes an awesome dip for veggie platters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Am in love with all the recipes I get to see in this website, but i have to say this one, it is just not for me, I did it with half of the quantity because we are only two of as currently, and even with half it was way too much mayo too deal with, i ended up adding limon to sort of cut it off a little and that did not work, then I altered the all recipe and still taste the mayo. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Surprizingly good. I'll be honest, I didn't expect my family to like this but we really did. I cut the recipe in half and used lowfat mayonnaise and FF sour cream. Really great with a fresh veggie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
A little sweet, a little tart, really good dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I eat salad every day, so I tend to get bored with the grocery store dressings. This dressing is spectacular! I've made it with buttermilk instead of sour cream, which made it a little thinner. I love it both ways! Not exactly a low cal recipe, but when I have a craving for something sweet, this really hits the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was fantastic! I had white wine vinegar but it was still great! Even the kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adiuguid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was a little unsure about this dressing based on the ingredients and still unsure when I sampled some after mixing. However, when I put it on my tossed salad, I became addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
LOVE IT!! I didn't have any honey but made it anyway. Honey may have made it too sweet for me because the family and I thought it was PERFECT! Will definately be making it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKEDHAZEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Eeeeek! This was too sweet! And, I am born and bred in the midwest. I think it would have been good with just the honey. I had to try to tone it down so I added olive oil, a little more vinegar, more pepper and worchestershire. I think I will just experiment and make my own next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States