Midwest Loose Meats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Soooooo good! My 4 yr old ate 1 1/2 of these. Hubby wasn't so thrilled with the idea of it, but then ate 2 himself! I had no spicy brown mustard so I added what I had....honey mustard! Turned out great! My Son said, "This recipe is a keeper Mom"! I agree. We added our veggies into our sandwiches to make it more like a loose meat burger. This is a stand alone or 'beef' it up kind of recipe. Thank you for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was pretty good overall. The pickle made it a bit salty though and I cut them a little too thick too. Maybe dill relish would work as well and be easier? The beef had a nice flavor but you do have to like mustard as it is dominant. I think adding some garlic and onion to the beef would give additional flavor and some depth to this dish. I used garlic salt instead of plain. Mine took 15 min in the oven to heat through. I'd give this one 3.5 stars. Thanks Verno1, I enjoyed trying this and might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made as is. Some of my family members don't like pickles so I had some with and without. Since I tasted both, I have to admit that the pickles give it a nice kick. While doing AS IS, I thought that the meat had a nice flavor but could need extra seasoning or oomph. I think that some of the suggestions of onions, garlic or garlic power, or others could help it out. However, this is a quick slap it together meal and I am ok with not really tweaking it. I would highly suggest going through the step of putting the sandwiches in the over for 10 minutes! It takes the crumbly mixture which would normally fall out of the sandwich and nicely blends it with the bread. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We really liked these. I added onion and garlic to the beef as I cooked it and left out the salt (I think the chicken broth was salty enough). I also didnt put on bread and put it in the oven. Instead I served with artisan bread fresh out of the oven and we each put our own mustard and pickles on. When my husband got seconds, he forgot the mustard and pickles. He thought it just wasn't the same without them so he got up to get them. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Yum, we liked these a lot! If you're from Wichita, KS, you will recognize these as Nu Way burgers. These are pretty much exactly like the restaurants sandwiches, which is exactly what I was hoping for. I think next time I will add onions to the ground beef mixture, but other than that, it was perfect. The only thing that I changed when I made it this time was cutting the recipe in half because there were only two adults and one small child eating. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Best loose meat recipe that I can find online. Made the recipe for four instead of twelve. DH is eating gluten free so we had mashed potatoes instead of buns. Had mixed veggies on the side. You could say we had deconstructed cottage pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is super tasty! I made enough for two people so I used 1 lb ground beef, half a can of beef broth, and lots of onion powder, worcester, and spicy mustard to simmer the meat in. I also added onion. It was great! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
What a great lunch! Scored ground sirloin for $2.50lb and wanted something other than tacos, hamburgers or pasta w/meat sauce and THESE hit the mark. My husband does not like dill pickles so put hot pepper hoagie relish on his. I put the pepper relish and pickles on mine. I did brown the meat in butter with onion and served in hot dog rolls (all I had) which kept the meat in & less messy. I put white American cheese on before baking. BAKING is a MUST! Do NOT skip that step!!! Tastes like a poor man's Philly Cheese Steak.....this will be a regular lunch item in our house. USE A POTATO MASHER to help break up the meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Even better than Tastee Inn burgers, and I never thought I would say that! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Our family of 9 liked this recipe. We did half of the sandwiches with pickles and half without per kid request. We also left off the mustard on the bun and let everyone put on their own condiments when it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States