Midwest Loose Meats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made as is. Some of my family members don't like pickles so I had some with and without. Since I tasted both, I have to admit that the pickles give it a nice kick. While doing AS IS, I thought that the meat had a nice flavor but could need extra seasoning or oomph. I think that some of the suggestions of onions, garlic or garlic power, or others could help it out. However, this is a quick slap it together meal and I am ok with not really tweaking it. I would highly suggest going through the step of putting the sandwiches in the over for 10 minutes! It takes the crumbly mixture which would normally fall out of the sandwich and nicely blends it with the bread. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I followed the directions and added nacho cheese to the middle of each sandwich. AHHH...MAZE....ING!!! I had a couple of things not turn out perfect though; 1st was that the meat with liquid step never evaporated for me, 2nd was that the burgers stuck to the foil (will spray with pam next time), and 3rd was the bun ended up slightly soggy. None of these creating big problems, just a bit of a hiccup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These are very tasty! I prefer this type of thing instead of sloppy Joes. I usually just halve the recipe, but otherwise keep it the same. If I'm short on time, I don't even bother baking them. I just toast the buns and fill them with meat and pickles and eat them like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Best loose meat recipe that I can find online. Made the recipe for four instead of twelve. DH is eating gluten free so we had mashed potatoes instead of buns. Had mixed veggies on the side. You could say we had deconstructed cottage pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Wasn't too sure about this but we ended up really liking it and will make it again. Scaled it back using only 2 lb of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
What a great lunch! Scored ground sirloin for $2.50lb and wanted something other than tacos, hamburgers or pasta w/meat sauce and THESE hit the mark. My husband does not like dill pickles so put hot pepper hoagie relish on his. I put the pepper relish and pickles on mine. I did brown the meat in butter with onion and served in hot dog rolls (all I had) which kept the meat in & less messy. I put white American cheese on before baking. BAKING is a MUST! Do NOT skip that step!!! Tastes like a poor man's Philly Cheese Steak.....this will be a regular lunch item in our house. USE A POTATO MASHER to help break up the meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I really am giving this 4 1/2 stars only because of the changes I made - I diced up an onion and added to the meat when I cooked the meat - Used venison - I added a small can of mild green chile to my liquid, used and I also added some accent - Meat came out wonderful! - To my buns I put a slice of American cheese on one half and ketchup on the other - I was really worried my husband would not eat it because of the chile and mustard - But he loved it and came back for a 2nd one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is super tasty! I made enough for two people so I used 1 lb ground beef, half a can of beef broth, and lots of onion powder, worcester, and spicy mustard to simmer the meat in. I also added onion. It was great! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
My husband was skeptical but he Loved it!! It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
LOVED these! I live in the midwest and near my hometown we have a Maidrite sandwich shop. These are sooooo close to the taste of their maidrites. I omitted the 1/4 of yellow mustard and they were wonderful. My husband said they were possibly the best maidrites he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States