Midwest Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
this is a great recipe! i realized i didn't have any garlic salt for the marinade, so i chopped up some fresh garlic and it worked just as well... the house smelled so good the whole time it was cooking...it reminded me and my family of grandma's great (lost) brisket recipe. i will definitely make this again, though i might cut the cooking time by 45min to an hour as i was hoping it would be moister, but all in all it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I served a 10lb brisket at my last cookout and it was a big success. It'll leave a very dirty pan, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Great marinade, I used dehydrated onions instead of fresh (of course I had to add some water) Brisket came out very moist and tender. Could not have been better. Will try this marinade on other kinds of meat. Edith Theisen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Recipe did not say whether to roast covered or not. I "tented" with aluminum foil as a compromise. My brisket was only 4 Lbs. so I cooked 1 hour less. I should have checked at 3-1/2 hours;it was starting to burn. I suspect the 5 star reviews had a fattier/more marbled brisket for more flavor. It did have a nice smoky flavor but nothing outstanding. I will try this one again with a fattier brisket or maybe in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this recipe for my husband and parents. It was a huge hit. I'm sure how really good it is depends on the quality of the brisket, but the flavors in this marinade - especially the celery seed - were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I thought this recipe was very flavorful. I added a 1/4 cup more of onions. I did tent the meat and watched it carefully. Did not cook it for the entire 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Wonderful flavor! We cooked it at 250 for 6 hours and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was great! I served 7 and had so much left over. Watch it towards the end of cooking time though, I didn't need the full time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Good Lord!! Am I just this hungry or is this actually this tasty?! I think a little of both. I followed the recipe as written until it came time to cook it. I cooked it for 5 hours in my slow cooker (which does tend to run hotter than I believe it should). I got a wonderfully tender brisket, without the usual mushiness that I get from cooking roasts in the slow cooker. The flavor was wonderful, the texture was perfect. It's a keeper! The only thing I will try next time is to add pepper flakes or hot sauce to the marinade,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States