Midnight Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I'm the one who put this recipe up. Thanks for trying! You're right, the texture of the dough is a little strange. I do roll the balls very, very small :) The texture of the cookie is pretty different from most, too--more dense. Thanks for the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made these cookies for christmas in place of my usual gingerbread cookies. My entire family loved them. One warning, they are pretty spicy (by this I mean heat). I think with less cayenne pepper they would be more tolerable for people who are sensitive to this (like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
These cookies were amazing! they took about 2 hours for me to make them... and when i made them the 4 dozen only made 1 dozen so if u want more add to the recipe. Also i bakked mine for about 14 minutes. I LOVE THESE COOKIES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Awesome cookies! A must try! I added a bit more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made these just as written. Unfortunately, I cooked them too long (longer than the directions called for). They came out very soft but hardened. And I definitely only got half the amount of cookies the recipe called for, even though I made them extremely small. The cookies don't spread. Great flavor, but be careful not to use too much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made them without the ceyanne, cloves and nutmeg because I didn't have any and they were a little bland but not bad. Also, making each cookie 2 tablespoons is two big. I only got about 12 cookies and they were kind of burnt on the bottom and doughy on the top. I would say about 1 teaspoon and also watch them closely so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
i prefer the original recipe for gingersnaps these were a bit too soft and their flavour wasnt strong enough maybe i'll put more ginger next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These cookies are great! For me they also turned out softer with a smaller yield (but that is why I chose this recipe). I also added another pinch of ginger and used ground cardamom instead of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These came out absolutely delicious! I liked the kick, but I added a bit of extra ginger to get it. Also, molasses isn't sold where I live, so I had to substitute pure maple syrup for it and they still came out great. There weren't as many as the recipe said there would be, so maybe I'll make them smaller the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Nice cookies. I omitted the cayenne as I can't handle it and upped the ginger to a well-rounded tsp. I also rolled them in confectioner's sugar. They're better warm, but still very good once they're cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States