Midnight Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made these cookies for christmas in place of my usual gingerbread cookies. My entire family loved them. One warning, they are pretty spicy (by this I mean heat). I think with less cayenne pepper they would be more tolerable for people who are sensitive to this (like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These cookies are great! For me they also turned out softer with a smaller yield (but that is why I chose this recipe). I also added another pinch of ginger and used ground cardamom instead of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
i prefer the original recipe for gingersnaps these were a bit too soft and their flavour wasnt strong enough maybe i'll put more ginger next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These cookies were a little too rich with butter for my taste. I liked the spice but I would prefer more "snap" to my gingersnaps. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Nice cookies. I omitted the cayenne as I can't handle it and upped the ginger to a well-rounded tsp. I also rolled them in confectioner's sugar. They're better warm, but still very good once they're cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These were really good cookies with a kick! Traditional gingersnap taste with a kick from the cayenne pepper that is just right! My house smelled so good while I was baking these. I didn't get 48 servings out of my batter though, I think next time I will make the balls smaller and flatten them out more as I like crisper gingersnaps. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made them without the ceyanne, cloves and nutmeg because I didn't have any and they were a little bland but not bad. Also, making each cookie 2 tablespoons is two big. I only got about 12 cookies and they were kind of burnt on the bottom and doughy on the top. I would say about 1 teaspoon and also watch them closely so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Decent, but skip the cayenne pepper and roll them in sugar before baking. Makes little bite-sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These came out absolutely delicious! I liked the kick, but I added a bit of extra ginger to get it. Also, molasses isn't sold where I live, so I had to substitute pure maple syrup for it and they still came out great. There weren't as many as the recipe said there would be, so maybe I'll make them smaller the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States