Midnight Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These were really good cookies with a kick! Traditional gingersnap taste with a kick from the cayenne pepper that is just right! My house smelled so good while I was baking these. I didn't get 48 servings out of my batter though, I think next time I will make the balls smaller and flatten them out more as I like crisper gingersnaps. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
this was pretty good the taste was great!the texture of the dough was kind of weird but overall it was pretty good!! thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I'm the one who put this recipe up. Thanks for trying! You're right, the texture of the dough is a little strange. I do roll the balls very, very small :) The texture of the cookie is pretty different from most, too--more dense. Thanks for the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made these cookies for christmas in place of my usual gingerbread cookies. My entire family loved them. One warning, they are pretty spicy (by this I mean heat). I think with less cayenne pepper they would be more tolerable for people who are sensitive to this (like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
i prefer the original recipe for gingersnaps these were a bit too soft and their flavour wasnt strong enough maybe i'll put more ginger next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
These cookies were amazing! they took about 2 hours for me to make them... and when i made them the 4 dozen only made 1 dozen so if u want more add to the recipe. Also i bakked mine for about 14 minutes. I LOVE THESE COOKIES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These cookies are great! For me they also turned out softer with a smaller yield (but that is why I chose this recipe). I also added another pinch of ginger and used ground cardamom instead of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These are old school cookies.For those whose taste buds are burned up!!!A LOT of spice in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beets442

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Decent, but skip the cayenne pepper and roll them in sugar before baking. Makes little bite-sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These came out absolutely delicious! I liked the kick, but I added a bit of extra ginger to get it. Also, molasses isn't sold where I live, so I had to substitute pure maple syrup for it and they still came out great. There weren't as many as the recipe said there would be, so maybe I'll make them smaller the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States