Middle Eastern White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was great! I have made it several times. I sometimes add some smoked kelbasa sausage cut into medallions. Very good - my kids ask for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I have to say that this sauce is a great base. I was prepared to make spaghetti for my husband's dinner when unexpectedly he had to pick up a friend at the airport coming in from Jordan. A quick search on here brought me to this recipe that I thought I could use as a base for a spaghetti sauce with a middle eastern flair. The sauce is great; am sure it is great with beans. I made the meatballs from the 'Kafta(bbq)' recipe on here and it was great!!! Only changes besides the beans was adding more cumin and 2 bay leafs. I also didn't have a can of beef broth so had some turkey broth in the fridge and subbed that instead. Also a couple of chopped roma tomatoes. I will try it with the beans next time. The sauce alone is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I loved this recipe! It was easy and flavorful. Thanks for an excellent contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Loved it! The only change I made was that I used a vegetarian boullion cube and 1/2 can of tomatos. Kathleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Not only is this recipe easy but it is also inexpensive and tasty. For the pimento sauce I put jarred pimentos in the food processor to create a paste. It turned out wonderful, thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a great dish, lots of flavor and the white kidney bean is a natural starch carb blocker. I would advise that you follow the measurements and avoid “eyeballing” it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
made this in my creuset saute pan. sauteed the onion and garlic with the spices to start, then added the tomato paste, and then the rest. i didn't have pimento sauce, so i whirred up some jarred roasted red peppers to substitute. we also like things a bit spicy so i doubled the cumin and added some cayenne. served with brown rice pasta and a side of steamed broccoli - DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! this is going in the rotation for sure! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I haven't tried this version yet, but so happy to have found this! An Iraqi restaurant near my house serves this with basmati rice and shwarma. Its my favorite so thanks for the recipe!! Now if only I could make shwarma at home my life would be complete!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SilentStarlight
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was a simple and tasty bean dish. I didn't have pimentos, but I will try to use them next time I make this. I think I'm going to add this to my dinner rotation. It reminded me of the fassoulia plaki that I've had at an Armenian restaurant. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Okay but not completely satisfied with the texture of the beans... Flavor was a little funky too and I suspect that was the result of the crockpot. Will try it again cooking it on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Betterton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States