Middle Eastern White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Not only is this recipe easy but it is also inexpensive and tasty. For the pimento sauce I put jarred pimentos in the food processor to create a paste. It turned out wonderful, thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a great dish, lots of flavor and the white kidney bean is a natural starch carb blocker. I would advise that you follow the measurements and avoid “eyeballing” it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was great! I have made it several times. I sometimes add some smoked kelbasa sausage cut into medallions. Very good - my kids ask for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I haven't made this but plan on making it for our supper club dinner this Saturday. I need to know before so I can get all the ingredients - what is pimento sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I have to say that this sauce is a great base. I was prepared to make spaghetti for my husband's dinner when unexpectedly he had to pick up a friend at the airport coming in from Jordan. A quick search on here brought me to this recipe that I thought I could use as a base for a spaghetti sauce with a middle eastern flair. The sauce is great; am sure it is great with beans. I made the meatballs from the 'Kafta(bbq)' recipe on here and it was great!!! Only changes besides the beans was adding more cumin and 2 bay leafs. I also didn't have a can of beef broth so had some turkey broth in the fridge and subbed that instead. Also a couple of chopped roma tomatoes. I will try it with the beans next time. The sauce alone is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
made this in my creuset saute pan. sauteed the onion and garlic with the spices to start, then added the tomato paste, and then the rest. i didn't have pimento sauce, so i whirred up some jarred roasted red peppers to substitute. we also like things a bit spicy so i doubled the cumin and added some cayenne. served with brown rice pasta and a side of steamed broccoli - DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! this is going in the rotation for sure! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Loved it! The only change I made was that I used a vegetarian boullion cube and 1/2 can of tomatos. Kathleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I loved this recipe! It was easy and flavorful. Thanks for an excellent contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I didn't think there was anything special with this recipe. The sauce was bland and not worth the effort. Sorry, it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Okay but not completely satisfied with the texture of the beans... Flavor was a little funky too and I suspect that was the result of the crockpot. Will try it again cooking it on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Betterton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States