Middle Eastern White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I loved this recipe! It was easy and flavorful. Thanks for an excellent contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Loved it! The only change I made was that I used a vegetarian boullion cube and 1/2 can of tomatos. Kathleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I have to say that this sauce is a great base. I was prepared to make spaghetti for my husband's dinner when unexpectedly he had to pick up a friend at the airport coming in from Jordan. A quick search on here brought me to this recipe that I thought I could use as a base for a spaghetti sauce with a middle eastern flair. The sauce is great; am sure it is great with beans. I made the meatballs from the 'Kafta(bbq)' recipe on here and it was great!!! Only changes besides the beans was adding more cumin and 2 bay leafs. I also didn't have a can of beef broth so had some turkey broth in the fridge and subbed that instead. Also a couple of chopped roma tomatoes. I will try it with the beans next time. The sauce alone is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I haven't made this but plan on making it for our supper club dinner this Saturday. I need to know before so I can get all the ingredients - what is pimento sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was great! I have made it several times. I sometimes add some smoked kelbasa sausage cut into medallions. Very good - my kids ask for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I didn't think there was anything special with this recipe. The sauce was bland and not worth the effort. Sorry, it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This was really bland and the rice made it even more so. I ended up throwing thiese out. Not for me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Not only is this recipe easy but it is also inexpensive and tasty. For the pimento sauce I put jarred pimentos in the food processor to create a paste. It turned out wonderful, thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a great dish, lots of flavor and the white kidney bean is a natural starch carb blocker. I would advise that you follow the measurements and avoid “eyeballing” it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
made this in my creuset saute pan. sauteed the onion and garlic with the spices to start, then added the tomato paste, and then the rest. i didn't have pimento sauce, so i whirred up some jarred roasted red peppers to substitute. we also like things a bit spicy so i doubled the cumin and added some cayenne. served with brown rice pasta and a side of steamed broccoli - DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! this is going in the rotation for sure! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States