Middle Eastern Turkey Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I already rated this once before, but I had to write again! So good and so easy. I used plain yogurt mixed with mango chutney as a sauce and served with warm tortillias. Thank you so much. I only used about 3/4 of a teaspoon of each spice... perfect!UPDATE ON REVIEW: I now usually serve with warm whole wheat pita bread and mix the mango chutney with light sour cream....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Very easy and surprisingly authentic tasting. My husband told me that these taste as good as the kafta (beef sausages) he gets at our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant. We ate them two to a pita with tzatziki sauce. My only complaint was that they were a little dry -- I think I cooked them too long. Next time I will not let them brown so much in the pan or only bake them for four minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
We love these! I mix the spices in early in the day and refrigerate until just before dinner. It is wonderful to have another low-fat decadance up my sleeve. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Fantastic! I have made these sausages into patties as well. I never thought i could enjoy a low fat sausage without bread or egg. i like to dip these in dijon mustard and eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Excellent with hummus and tzatziki in a pita! Easy to prepare, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This had a great taste, but I didn't form it into tubes as directed. I ended up making this a loose meat sandwich, using pitas and a california style israeli salad from this site. The seasonings were great. I would recommend getting in there and using your hands to mix the seasonings in with the meat, I made the mistake of not doing that, and ran into spots of heavily seasoned meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
We thought this was a great change from "the usual". I thought before I made them that it seemed like the recipe called for a lot of spices, but we decided after eating the meal that we wouldn't change any of the spices or amounts. The one thing we did do, was to check to see if they were done after 4 minutes in the oven and they were. We ate them in wholewheat pitas with Tzatziki sauce, and loved them! We will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was really good. I used large tsp amounts because I love strong flavours and I made mini loaves and as others suggested, put them in pitas with tzatziki, onions, tomatoes and they were sooo yummy! Thanks! Definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Wonderful!. I followed recipe exactly except for rolling out the meat. Instead I formed the meat around wooden skewers and cooked as per instructions. I served it with a peanut curry sauce and pita bread. The smell of the meat cooking wa great. Spiced/seasoned to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These are very good and easy to prepare. I think they take a little longer to cook than the recipe states. I just check them after about 10 minutes with a meat thermometer and put them back in for a few more minutes if needed. I have made them several times and have made a few additions according to my own personal tastes but they are still very good when made as the recipe directs. I grate about 4 T of onion on a cheese grater and add that to the ground turkey (I think this gives them a little more moisture, I do this when I make meat balls and hamburgers too). I also add about 1/2 cup of wheat bulger (plumped in warm water then drained) this adds a little lightness to the turkey and I think makes them bit more authentic. I up the seasonings just a bit to compensate for the addition of the bulger. Very good, quick and healthy dish. One of my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caruthers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States