Middle Eastern Turkey Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as stated except I bought a package of 1.25lb ground turkey and did patties rather than dogs. Next time I make this (very soon) I am going add a bit more spice to make up for the amount of turkey. My girls 9 & 11 scarfed it down! My hubby is out of town and when he gets home I am going to make this again! Served with sliced red onion, tzatziki, feta and whole wheat pita. Forgot to halve the cherry tomatoes I had or would have thrown those in too! Delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Absolutely delicious, even hubby loved these! Instead of cinnamon I used chili power and paprika. I also added a pinch of crushed red pepper for some zing! I eye balled all of the spices but I definitely used less than 1 tsp. of ginger -- I didn't want to over power the rest of the ingredients. I served these in a pita topped with caramelized onions and tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
great spice combination; I add a little more cumin. great with yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made it into little meatballs hoping the kids would eat them with toothpicks, but it wasn't a hit with them. That just meant more for me! I will make it again for me and the hubs, but not for the kids until their taste buds grow up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Easy and excellent. I served these with some yogurt and dill dipping sauce and plain rice. The rice took longer to prepare and cook than these "Turkey Dogs". If you are a fan of Middle Eastern food and are short on time and supplies, but not spices, then this is the meal to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItazuraStrikes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This smelled good while it was cooking and was easy to make. They have a tasty, interesting flavor. I will make it again. I served it with a avocado,tomato, lettuce salad with feta vinaigrette; and a slice of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Didnt have coriander so used garlic powder 1 tsp, 1/4 cup olive oil, ground 1 medium onion as other user said for moistness. Fried flattened balls in olive oil til brown on both sides and were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Definetly use the ground turkey with a higher fat content
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was really good. I used large tsp amounts because I love strong flavours and I made mini loaves and as others suggested, put them in pitas with tzatziki, onions, tomatoes and they were sooo yummy! Thanks! Definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Wow, wow, WOW! I was looking for something a little different to do with my ground turkey last night for dinner and decided to try this recipe. I was a little leary of it, because I'm extremely new to the idea of using cinnamon in main dishes instead of just in baked goods, so I was concerned by a couple reviews saying the cinnamon was overpowering. After talking with a couple people on The Buzz, I decided to go for it and make the recipe as-written, except I shaped the meat differently. I copied the idea of the reviewer who flattened the meat and just fried it (no baking needed, since the flat patties cooked completely through in the frying pan). I served it on pita bread with Tzatziki Sauce I from here at AllRecipes, shredded romaine lettuce, and sliced fresh tomatoes from our garden. My daughter, my fiance, and I all agree this recipe is a definite keeper and will absolutely be part of our regular rotation from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States