Middle Eastern Turkey Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Flavor was right on. Shaped into mini burger patties instead and pan fried. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Flavor is a 3 star-good not special. But it gets an extra star for being easy and healthy. I will make again. I served it w/ greek yogart-sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Pretty interesting. It's a very middle eastern flavor which might be too strong for Americans unused to such cooking. I like the idea of patties better than tubes and put yogurt cucumber sauce on. Actually I think it would even be good with mustard and sour pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Pretty good. I liked, but, no one else was that crazy about it. I love shish kafta & these are kind of like it. I served the turkey tubes in pita bread (pulled apart so you just roll up everything in one side) with tomato, lettuce, tzatziki sauce & a thinly sliced pickle (like I get them back home). I would make these for myself again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These are very good and easy to prepare. I think they take a little longer to cook than the recipe states. I just check them after about 10 minutes with a meat thermometer and put them back in for a few more minutes if needed. I have made them several times and have made a few additions according to my own personal tastes but they are still very good when made as the recipe directs. I grate about 4 T of onion on a cheese grater and add that to the ground turkey (I think this gives them a little more moisture, I do this when I make meat balls and hamburgers too). I also add about 1/2 cup of wheat bulger (plumped in warm water then drained) this adds a little lightness to the turkey and I think makes them bit more authentic. I up the seasonings just a bit to compensate for the addition of the bulger. Very good, quick and healthy dish. One of my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caruthers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I had to use up some ground turkey, followed this recipe to the "T", and we thought it was pretty darn good. i don't see why it can't be in hamburger form either. We liked the combination of spices a lot., thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
YUMMY! I made these for dinner tonight and I LOVED them! I served them in a whole wheat pita with lettuce, tomato, feta cheese, and homemade lowfat tzatziki sauce. I only used about 3/4 teaspoon of each spice and subbed dried cilantro for the ground coriander because I didn't have coriander on hand. Absolutely fabulous, and healthy to boot! I'd make this recipe again in a heartbeat! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe. Tried this last night and my husband didn't sound too enthused when I told him what I was making, but he was convinced afterwards. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly. Great flavor and something a lot more flavorful to do with ground turkey. I'm going to make a large batch next time and freeze some for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My husband and I ate these but didn''t really care for them. My kids wouldn't touch them. Lots of remarks about the unappetizing appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is very good and simple to make.But needs a sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States