Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I just made this. It is very good, but way too much turmeric!!! I had to throw out have the rice mixture because of the overwhelming turmeric. With only half of the rice mixture blended in with turkey and beans, it was good. A darn shame I had to do that. But it was very good after eliminating all that turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora Durall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I loved it. I used 2 pounds of ground turkey so I wouldn't have a half package left over. Subbed brown rice for the kind called for and added the cilantro and parsley. Beware...you need a big pan. I used my wok and had it full. It is a little spicy and was too spicy for my wife...but I love spicy things but she not so much. It was very good and I heartily recommend it! Makes plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans Haiku: "No less than 5 stars! Really, this blew us away! Good with garnishes." Halved the recipe for 2 adults, 1 child, and skipped on the chick peas. Didn't have turmeric, so used a little curry. Definitely didn't skip the optional cilantro! Served ours topped w/ plain Greek yogurt, toasted walnuts (cheaper than pine nuts and more versatile, IMO), diced cucumber, Sriracha, and additional cilantro. This tasted like something I'd order at a Persian restaurant that I adore in Atlanta - not difficult to put together at all and certainly in the keeper file now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great recipe, very tasty - I took a reviewer's advice and eat it with some Greek yogurt, and it's always delicious. I also cook the turkey in with the rice because I'm lazy and it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Just made this dish mad loved it! I used 3 1/2 cups of chicken stock. I didn't have two cans of black beans but that was okay it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharry Akin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was great!I followed the advice of others and doubled the spices, using 1/2 for the rice and 1/2 for the meat. I also sauteed up some onions with the garlic at the beginning. I wouldn't reduce the amount of broth, as mine came out great as written. It definitely would have been too dry otherwise. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Based on other reviews, I,too, reduced the chicken broth to 2 1/2 cups. Added chopped onion as well. We loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good with Naan. I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. That was good amount for the kids. I would add less meat next time (1/2 lb).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good! Such a change to throw in your weekend meals or even weekday. My husband and 15 year old son loved it, my 14 year old daughter enjoyed it but had to have it with sour cream because it was too spicy. If someone doesn't like spicy than hold out on the cayenne pepper. All other spices are phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't measure the spices but I know I used a lot more than the recipe called for. I also added curry powder. I cut the recipe in half and it made a ton of food. It's very tasty and I am sure will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States