Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I really like this recipe, I've made a few changes here and there. I've added corn sometimes among other things, but I keep coming back to it. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Very good! I didn't have coriander, but it was seasoned nicely anyway. As recommended, I cut down stock (I used vegetable stock to accommodate my vegetarian daughter) to about 3 cups. I'd also didn't use pine nuts (not in the pantry) and used only one can of each bean. My chef husband thought this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Get Cookin
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Yummy added to recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe was really great and so easy because you can modify it to include whatever you've got in your fridge and pantry pretty easily. I had leftover cooked quinoa that I used instead of the rice and I put in chopped green pepper and onion for an extra veg. I didn't have chickpeas so I used white kidney beans instead. All in all you can make this your own, different each time if you want and the base of the recipe will be a staple for me from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
A good and simple recipe. With some modifications it will definitely become a regular in my kitchen. It needs more spice, perhaps some mint and a spoon of yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Tarasovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Absolutely a great dish. Something we Wii have often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe, will be making this over and over. But I did make some changes: 1. I made it with quinoa instead of rice. 2. I added some yellow diced onion to the quinoa. 3. And added a handful of torn spinach when it was done cooking. 4. As other people mentioned I only used one can each of black beans. And instead of garbanzo,I used one can of white beans. 5. I used only 3T of cilantro 6. 3T of parsley. I served it with a big green romaine salad of tomato and feet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Came out well enough, but I'd recommend leaving out the meat and just using it as a side dish instead. If you do want the meet, I'd advise against turkey, which disappeared among the spices. The specified recipe will make A LOT--living alone, I'm finding it hard to go through all the leftovers before it goes bad. As a side dish, I'd say it's enough for more than a dozen people, and even as an entree it could probably feed 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was fabulous. I didn't expect my kids to enjoy it so much with all the parsley and cilantro, but they did. I added sautéed onion and mushrooms with the garlic. I also sautéed the parsley in a little butter and lemon juice from half a lemon before I added it to the mixture. I went sparingly on the cayenne pepper and didn't have pine nuts. We set greek yogurt and salsa on the table for anyone to add to it. We preferred the salsa with it. Tomatoes are definitely a compliment to this dish. We will eat this again. Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious!I omitted the turkey since I'm vegetarian and added roasted cauliflower. I followed suggestions to cut down on the broth, so only used 2 cups. So, so good! Added a spoonful of plain yogurt to the top to finish the dish. My 5 year old had 2 huge platefuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States