Middle Eastern Cumin Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
These were so good! I think I would up the cumin next time for even more of that flavor, but otherwise, delicious. Thanks for the tip of serving over bulgur - I had a box in my pantry to use up and this was a great way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Husband said"these are good". He's a chef and owns three restaurants. He's also Moroccan. I more than doubled the cumin and garlic powder. I also added another tablespoon of tomato paste. i think a small amt of puréed onions mixed into meatballs would really have given it a kick. I made these for my young kids as well but if I were making for adults I think I would have added a sm amt of chile powder. Easy but I also did not sautée the meatballs on med high for 10 min. Just a few min until each side was browned. we have an electric oven/stove top. :( ... Ohh p.s. I also added paprika and coriander powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TomS
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Hey I am from middle east and it really do remind me of home...i added Satureja instead of cumin to give it special flavour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Amazingly good!! I must admit I tweaked it because my husband would not have liked just the tomato paste flavor ( I did). But I added a little can Tomatoes & Green Chili's and for the tomato paste I used the Roasted Garlic version. I did the whole amount of garlic and a whole teaspoon Cumin! Yummie!! And in the end I added two big spoons of Sour Cream to make it smoother and less tomato. Oh my so good! Next day even better!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The meatballs were fantastic but the tomato sauce seemed like an afterthought - lacks much flavor. Taste just like it sounds - tomato paste mixed with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this two or three times now. My in-laws, who are both great cooks ate seconds, and my toddler even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Substituted tempeh for ground beef and put all "meat"ball ingredients through the food processor. I found that I needed to bake the "meat"balls after browning, because of the tempeh substitution, and I made the balls about ping-pong ball size or slightly smaller. Baking at 350F for about 10 minutes toughened them up enough (they were quite crumbly even with the egg and bread crumbs, but worth it for vegetarians to enjoy Middle Eastern "meat"balls). Good flavour--consider adding minced parsley to the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I love this dish! I've made it many times. I only made a few alterations...I doubled the garlic & cumin (my 2 favorite flavors) for the meatballs. I like the sauce a lot. I did saute onions and garlic first then added the other ingredients. I would double the sauce if you want to add more if you are serving with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DH's TT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very tasty meatballs! Could use a little more cumin next time. The sauce was great. I used a box of Pomi chopped tomatoes as the base - tasted great with the lemon juice. Served with bulghur and fresh steamed spinach. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Good flavor. My meatballs fell apart, though. I've never had that problem before, but I just served it as ground beef over rice and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States