Middle Eastern Cumin Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Thank you, very good! We did not make the tomato sauce. Instead, we used a mild cucumber sauce as for Pitas, and used these meatballs in pita pockets. They were very good. We'd also use them with a curry sauce, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe is friggen delicious. It goes perfectly with this recipe for risotto also... Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very tasty meatballs! Could use a little more cumin next time. The sauce was great. I used a box of Pomi chopped tomatoes as the base - tasted great with the lemon juice. Served with bulghur and fresh steamed spinach. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
My Egyptian husband loved these and proclaimed them to be the best meatballs he ever ate. A few small changes. First I used Italian bread crumbs. For the sauce I did add onions, more cumin and dried bay leaves. The sauce still could use some help but it was pretty good. Unfortunately the toddler did not like the meal. If he had I would have rated it higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkimble24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Great garlicky flavor in these. I didn't have tomato paste so I just used beef stock for the water and some mexican tomato sauce (Del Fuerte brand) that I had opened in the fridge. The sauce all simmered away though during cooking and there was none to spoon over the meatballs or rice, so next time I will double it. I did add a little flour/water slurry right at the beginning to help thicken the sauce up a little. Really good, I enjoyed this quite a bit. I served this with Jeera (cumin) rice. Thanks for the great recipe, I'm making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Good flavor. My meatballs fell apart, though. I've never had that problem before, but I just served it as ground beef over rice and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this dish! it was very flavourful and unique... my whole family was very surprised and loved it and had alot to say about it. I added chopped onions to the tomato sauce and it only added to the flavour. It was very simple to make and I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Substituted tempeh for ground beef and put all "meat"ball ingredients through the food processor. I found that I needed to bake the "meat"balls after browning, because of the tempeh substitution, and I made the balls about ping-pong ball size or slightly smaller. Baking at 350F for about 10 minutes toughened them up enough (they were quite crumbly even with the egg and bread crumbs, but worth it for vegetarians to enjoy Middle Eastern "meat"balls). Good flavour--consider adding minced parsley to the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I love this dish! I've made it many times. I only made a few alterations...I doubled the garlic & cumin (my 2 favorite flavors) for the meatballs. I like the sauce a lot. I did saute onions and garlic first then added the other ingredients. I would double the sauce if you want to add more if you are serving with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DH's TT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States