Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Great simple salad, easy to make and very refreshing on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Disarmingly simple and healthy. Wonderful contrast of flavors, textures and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is my new favorite salad! I used a roasted garlic bread instead of the fresh garlic the first time.. and it was amazing! The second time I made it, I used a rosemary bread and fresh garlic.. and it was good too! I like this recipe, becuase you can play with the ingredients a little bit. Some fresh pepper on top was nice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Such a colorful salad. Everyone commented on its summery appearance. We did add baby spinach and toasted the bread prior to adding the dressing, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This is a tasty salad. I made a vinegrette with some dijon, added arugula and spinach, and omitted the onion. Served with a small side of pasta, it's perfect for a summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This is a great salad even for those of us who don't like tomatoes or onions. I doubled the tomatoes, cucumbers, olive oil, vinegar, garlic (even though its raw), added some lemon zest (Just got a micro-plain!), and a little lemon juice but didn't use all the onion called for. Also added some mozzarella. Even without these changes a very good salad, but gave it a 4 because to make it better I changed so much. I also toasted the bread cubes in the oven for 10 min or so at 400, corners just turned slightly golden. I let the basil, garlic, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, vinegar, lemon zest and juice, and olive oil sit for a while to meld then poured over bread after about 1ish hour. (To make it easier I put the basil, onion, garlic, and oil into a food processor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scio, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I thought this was very good and refreshing. Next time, I may add a bit of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I brought this salad to a baby shower of a friend who loves garlic and tomatoes. I got raves and guests asked for the recipe. I think this is a unique dish for most people and is sure to impress. My caveat . . . I added about 2T of capers for added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This salad smells so good. i was worried about the basil being to strong, but it was sooo good. I didn't have quite 2 cups of basil so I ripped up just a little spinach. My husband got really excited about this salad. He has plans to serve it when we entertain. I also added some seasoned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great salad. Toasted the bread so it wasn't soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States