Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
The Italian Bread Salad I made for dinner tonight was very similar to this one. I was able to get fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, and red & green peppers from my sister's garden so everything was very fresh. I added capers and kalamata olives to the salad, too. This was our dinner, so I added a few more pieces of bread to the bowl. (Probably too many, in looking back in hindsight.) Leftovers should be good tomorrow, even if the bread is a bit mushy. I'm so glad I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Favorite salad. Don't love thyme so I eliminated it. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I bought some expensive bread that was already stale, so had to find a recipe for it. I was missing several ingredients: cukes, red onion and fresh herbs - it was still delicious. I added extra garlic and extra tomato and made my own Italian dressing with Good Seasonings dressing mix. I also added a can of black beans (rinsed and drained). I'd love to try this again when I have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I absolutely LOVE this salad. I usally get tired of salads, but I make this several times a week for a side salad with supper or for my noon-time lunch! I've also added green olives and sliced avacado to the salad and it tastes SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
What a unique flavor! The second time I made it, I cut the olive oil to a teaspoon and added some more balsamic vinegar, plus cut the bread in half to save on calories. It was still wonderful--even my dad loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very good...next time I will add strips of green pepper, cubes of mozzerella cheese and a sprinkling of oregano to make it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Really good. I had never made a bread salad before, but since my husband is a huge bread lover (and not a salad lover) I thought I'd give it a try. Huge hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good, but for some reason not popular at the potluck I attended. It was not my favorite, but still pretty good. This is one of those recipes you have to eat at one sitting. Otherwise it gets pretty soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Very good summer salad, and excellent way to get your fresh garden veggies into your meals. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was very good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States