Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSJPVAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I have made this several times but I use lettus with just a bit of the basil. For me the basil would be too much so I add it to lettus and we eat this several times during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosebud, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Delicious! I used about 1/2 the amount of basil and added mozzarella balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINA0712

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Wow this was amazing! So different and so simple! To avoid sogginess I made sure my bread was all the way dried out (like crutons) and kept all the prepared ingredients separate until the moment we sat down to the table. Just dumped them all together at the last moment, tossed and served. The only change I made was to omit the cucumber and add some chopped fresh mushrooms, flaked tuna, salt and fresh cracked pepper. My favorite part was the whole leaves of basil. The flavors went beautifully and I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used more tomatoes and less onion than was called for. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Yum, this was really good! I followed the recipe exactly with a couple of minor exceptions. I cut the recipe in half, I added a squeeze of honey to my dressing to cut through the vinegary taste, I added S&P to the dressing and I omitted the thyme because I don't really like it. I did toast the bread cubes lightly and the end result was really delicious, satisfying salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I did make a few changes. I cut my bread into cubes and toasted it in the oven on 400 for about 10 minutes. I eliminated the thyme because I didn't have it on hand. I used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic and I finely grated in some fresh parmesan reggiano cheese. It had a good flavor, but even with toasting the bread it was still really really soggy before even putting the dressing on. It was pretty much a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Made this for a family dinner and they loved it. I left the bread out as they did not want me to use it and it was still great. Next time I may add a little more balsamic vinegar to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I changed it up to make the salad a little heartier by adding a little romain, mozzerella cheese, garbanzo beans and dried salami. It was really good, but I really didn't care for the bread in it. I toasted the bread like some reccommended as my bread wasn't really stale and it just hurt my mouth. I ended up taking the bread out and really enjoyed the salad. Maybe next time, I will not toast the bread. I loved the basil in the salad. I didn't have the thyme it called for but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
very delish. the only thing that i ended up changing is the amount of tomatoes .. since we love our tomatoes i ended up tripling the amount. added more olive oil to moisten bread..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States