Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I changed this a little. I cut my bread into slices, brushed it was a little butter, rubbed it with garlic and grilled it. I also added gorganzola cheese which really made a difference. This was so yummy, we were scraping the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very good! I did not put the bread into the salad but placed it next to it to use to dip/scoop the salad with. I also used leftover "garlic bubble ring" and toasted small pieces in the oven at 200 degrees to use for the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
We liked this, however I will definetly toast the bread first and rub with a little garlic. I don't care for soggy bread. I added fresh mozzerella and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Apart from omitting the thyme, I made this as written, and thought it was pretty good. My bread wasn't particularly soggy either. If I were to make it again, I would definitely throw in some mixed lettuce leaves; some pine nuts would be nice too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is one of our favorite summer salads. The trick is to add the croutons at the last minute. Try adding a ball of fresh mozzarella. We make a meal of this and gazpacho soup as a starter. Wonderful when all the ingredients are summer-ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Very pretty, tasty, and simple. The only thing I changed was the amount of bread. I used about half of the bread called for. I made the vegetable part ahead of time and added the bread just before serving. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Update: 8/6 (Bright light on this recipe. Used just the crusty part of the Italian bread,which I baked in the oven first. Added salad greens, julienned green pepper, shredded mozzarella and a sprinkle of parmesan. Mom added sliced black olives to hers, and I did use the red onion this time around. Outstanding!) Original review: 7/21 Well, I did change this considerably. I chopped up the veggies, omitted the onion (used more tomato), added the herbs (used half the basil) along with fresh oregano, dried rosemary, S&P and marinated for about an hour. Served as a salad with a nice fresh loaf of crusty bread on the side, and it was quite nice. (was worried about soggy bread.) Thank you, Tamara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This was wonderful! I didn't add as much basil as it called for and it was still very tasty. I brushed the bread with olive oil and garlic and toasted it for about ten minutes. I also waited to add the bread until right before I served it so the bread wouldn't get mushy. It tastes like brushetta (sp?) in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I am giving this a 4 because I changed it. I didn't like the idea of soggy bread, so toasted it first then drizzled it with EVOO and rubbed it with a garlic clove. I didn't have enough basil so I added spinach, I didn't use onion. We topped the mix on our plates with the bread and added the vinegaar and oil dressing. All in all a good salad that we will have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Well, here's the scoop. Hubby gave this a one, Ash gave it a two and her boyfriend gave it a 3.5. Even though I placed the bread in the oven to get it very crispy and did not add it to the salad until the very last moment, the bread got soggy and that just sent my gang over the edge. According to them, without the bread it would have been a four. I for one, don't mind soggy bread in a nice garlicy oil, but I had to go with the majority on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States