Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
The only reason I am not rating it higher is because me and my family can not stand the taste of raw onions. I also added shredded meat slices for my meat loving hubby and threw in a bit of parmesan cheese. I would definintely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I thought this was going to be really weird. It was REALLY good. Even DH liked it. I didn't use the cream sherry -- I used some balsamic vinegar instead. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I gave this a 5, but made quite a bit of changes. I sprayed my bread cubes with olive oil and toasted them until they were golden. I didn't measure anything, just put in as much as I thought we would like. For the dressing I used olive oil, balsamic vinegar, 3 cloves of garlic (was a bit too strong), and dried rosemary (did not have any thyme). I put all this in my electric chopper and it made a great emulsified dressing. I also only used about two bunches of basil chopped and subbed spinach for the rest. We had it with pasta and loved it!! I served the bread cubes on top of the salad so they would not get soggy. Easy recipe and so easy to modify to your taste. Will be a staple now that the weather is heating up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is delicious! I added about 2 cups of mini balls of fresh mozzerella. I also used 1/2 cup olive oil and 4 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar. My whole family thought this dish was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
i love this salad...try chopping up an avocado with it for a slightly different view...it also makes the dressing a little creamier. SOOOOO GOOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This salad is a great side dish for lasagna or spaghetti. Excellent flavor. I toasted the bread and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
F A N T A S T I C!!!! I substituted baby spinach for much of the basil. We don't have a garden and I sure as heck wasn't paying the grocery store's price on fresh basil! My family LOVED it, even my 3 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Unfortunately this was not a hit. No one ate much of it and I had a ton left over. I think there was too much fresh basil, and the bread was kind of dry. The only change I made was an addition of fresh mozzerella cubed. Maybe if I had added slice salami or pepperoni it would have made it into a "sub salad" and been more appealing to everyone. I probably won't make this again, too much effort for the disappointing result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I made this with a cooking group awhile back. I really like the bread/balsamic vinegar combination. I think I will skip the salad part next time and just dip my bread in the vinegar and herbs. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Fabulous!! maybe double the dressing to make sure it is wet enough. But refreshing and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States