Mid-Eastern Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is a great, cheap recipe that is easy to make. I only gave it four stars because I did have to alter it a bit. First, I used Madras curry powder. As I have 5 different jars of curry powder in my pantry, I felt I was taking a risk on this but chose well I think. Second, I used regular chicken broth instead of the low sodium and it still did not have enough salt. Simply add salt for more flavor. I spiced it up with a half teaspoon of extra spicy indian chili powder. This gave it a much needed kick. I also added a bit of flour mixed with water to thicken the gravy up some. Pour it over short grain brown rice and its awesome. Enough for four meals given a side. I'm definitely adding this one to my standard recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I added chili powder b/c we like our food on the spicier side. My husband offered a 10/10 rating, which is really good b/c he eats a lot of different recipes that I make. We really liked this dish and it's nice b/c it has so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
As the submitter of this recipe, I have some comments. I tried to make it tonight following the recipe but I realize that I probably put double the spices on the chicken. I just sprinkle a healthy dose of curry, and then follow with about twice as much garam masala. If the sauce gets too low and we're having rice, I add another 1/2 cup wine and the rest of the can of broth (a little more than half). You can also buy one of the little bottles of wine and use that in the recipe instead of measuring. They are a little over 1/2 cp. Finally, at the end of cooking, I remove the chicken and bring the sauce to a hard boil for about 5 minutes until it is reduced. I don't know why that instruction didn't make it into the published version. Others have commented that they like it spicier and by all means bring out your spicy curry and red pepper if thats what you want. But I posted this recipe as something that children will eat while still keeping their more adventurous parents happy. I hope you all continue to enjoy this recipe. Its great features are that is quick, cheap, and has few ingredients. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Really, really good. I don't use curry powder, I much prefer the flavor of curry paste. I used about a teaspoon and a half of Patak's Madras paste. Since you can't get a good sear on chicken if it's coated with curry paste, I just added salt and pepper to the chicken and browned it, and then I removed the chicken from the pan and I added the curry paste to the sauteed onions. I added a clove of smashed garlic before braising (Honestly, what isn't better with a garlic clove!) Before serving I added fresh cracked black pepper and served with crusty bread. I loved this recipe, so did my husband, and it makes a truly beautiful sauce. This is a company dish for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Surprisingly good. And yes, I increased the seasoning. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My whole family loves this recipe, even my 2 year old son!! this is a regular at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
It was awesome! I cant wait to cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I usually make all my chicken recipes with chicken breasts, but decided to try this as posted. YUM! I followed the recipe exactly except I really didn't measure the spices, just sort of loaded them on :) Served with a wild rice/brown rice packaged mix and broccoli on the side. Oh, and it's fast! And inexpensive! What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Super easy recipe. Cooking times are perfect. As recommended, I increased seasonings on chicken and all liquids by 50%. I would recommend salt and pepper and maybe I will try a little chilli powder next time to add a bit more flavor. The flavor is not over powering as written so the kids did not create any resistance. Yummy recipe-thank you Klevear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States