Microwave Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I added 1 tsp of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was very good and not as salty as the packaged taco seasoning. I also wasn't sure about microwaving the meat but it turned out perfect! I will definitely use this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARO1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champlain, New York, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Like other reviewers I was mainly looking for the taco seasoning. I am a bit scared to cook meat in the microwave (worried about the texture). I actually used 1 lb turkey, cooked it stove top, drained a bit of the grease, and added the seasoning mixed in water and let it cook on lower heat for about 5 minutes. I actually doubled the cayenne for that little kick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Yummm! I had already started browning the meat and realized I didn't want to make another taco from a packet where they're covered in that gooey sauce. I tried this and it is delicious. I did add a more heaping tsp of the garlic powder. Will definitely put in my recipe box and make this again! TY for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I struggled whether to give this 4 or 5 stars. I thought it was 4 before my additions and 5 after. I cooked on stove and was thrilled to not have to chop an onion~ one less step! I went easy on the cayenne and next time will reduce the salt a bit as well. Thought it was okay as is, but thought it needed more depth of flavor. Added about a tsp of cumin and a generous sprinkling of onion powder. Now it's just right! Bring on the tacos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was good, but wasn't quite as good as the package (a modest standard at best). I added 1 tsp of cumin which helped make it better, but something else is missing - not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Cooked it over the stove instead of microwave (I have a problem with gray meat) If you want it spicy, use GOOD cayenne pepper. I also put mine through the food processor a few seconds when it was done to really break up the meat. This is an awesome recipe. I put it in corn tortillas and fried them to brown em a little, added cheddar cheese, lettuce and taco sauce. Voila....just like home, Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Wow! Surprisingly tasty tacos!!! I wasn't expecting much flavor. Microwaved taco meat??!!!?! Made these today for a get-together with friends. I needed someting easy to prepare as I was running short on time (and energy). Served alongside salsa rice (by Molly Ingle) with beer margaritas (by Big Surprise) to wash it all down, these were very tasty! I made a double batch (big eaters here...), so I had to microwave my meat for close to 11.5 minutes total. Served with hard taco shells, shredded taco seasoned cheese, tomatoes, lettuce, green onion, taco sauce and sour cream. It's amazing how good 'ol "comfort" food tastes. These remind me exactly of my mother's tacos. A great childhood memory. Thanks for sharing. I'll never use taco seasoning again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Good taco meat, not spicy at all, so if you don't like spicy tacos this is the one for you! This didn't make our favorites since we like spicy tacos but it is a good starting point. I did mine stovetop as I'm just more comfortable cooking the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe was great!! I didn't want to have to wash a lot of dishes, so it really helped me out. :) The recipe is really easy. One thing that I did was I ground up the beef more after I had put it in the microwave the first time, so I could get rid of more of the clumps. (Basically, I ground it up more before I put the spices in.) I thought the spices mix was good, but I'm going to try adding a taco mix pack for the next time. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States